Mancebo, Holcomb Top Final NRC Standings

Posted on 20. Sep, 2011 by in news

Francisco Mancebo ( on his way to winning Gila Monster & Tour of the Gila overall

Francisco Mancebo ( on his way to winning Gila Monster & Tour of the Gila overall

Though it was a done deal for quite a few weeks, it is now official, Francisco Mancebo ( and Janel Holcomb (Colavita/Forno d’Asolo)  claim the USA Cycling NRC Individual Standings for the 2011 season. In the team classifications, BISSELL Pro Cycling and Colavita/Forno d’Asolo took the honors.

Mancebo from start to finish. After taking  over the top of the standings after winning the overall at the season opener, the Redlands Bicycle Classic, the increased his lead by winning the SRAM Tour of the Gila and the Cascade Cycling Classic and a 7th overall at the Joe Martin Stage Race.

After a tremendous season which included numerous victories such as Bank of America Wilmington Grand Prix, Presbyterian Hospital Invitational Criterium, Roswell Criterium and Spartanburg Regional Classic, Jake Keough (UnitedHealthcare) finished second, at 82 points down. Luis Romero Amaran (Jamis-Sutter Home) took the third position, Jonathan Cantwell (Team Fly V), fourth, and Frank Pipp (Bissell Pro Cycling), fifth.

The BISSELL Pro Cycling claimed the team classification with two riders in the top 7 and four in the top 20 of the individual classification. They finished with a 337-point lead over UnitedHealthcare. Jamis-Sutter Home finished in third place, 139 points behind, Team Exergy took fourth place with in fifth.

Highest amateur is the men’s individual standings is Chad Haga, then riding for Team Rio Grande, in 17th. Haga joined Kelly Benefit Strategies in August. Team Mountain Khakis p/b SmartStop is the highest amateur team in the men’s team standings, coming in 13th overall.

Seen here in Joe Martin's leader's jersey, Janel Holcomb (Colavita/Forno d'Asolo) claims NRC standings

Seen here in Joe Martin's leader's jersey, Janel Holcomb (Colavita/Forno d'Asolo) claims NRC standings

Colavita/Forno d’Asolo dominates. No way around it, the squad under the leadership of Rachel Heal dominated the NRC scene, claiming lots of victories including Liberty Classic, Terrapin Twilight Criterium, Roswell Criterium, Tour of Somerville, Presbyterian Hospital Invitational Criterium, 28th Chris Thater Memorial, three stages at the Redlands Bicycle Classic and the overall at the Joe Martin Stage Race.

The team took the top 3 in the individual standings with Joe Martin winner Janel Holcomb claiming the top spot, 235 points ahead of her teammate Leah Kirchmann, and 263 points ahead of Theresa Cliff-Ryan. Erinne Willock (TIBCO/To The Top) took fourth in the standings with Redlands and Nature Valley Grand Prix overall winner Amber Neben (HTC-HighRoad) in fifth.

With a 1044-point lead, Colavita/Forno d’Asolo took the top spot in the team classification with TIBCO/To The Top in second.

Learn more about the races, the teams and the points in the NRC.

Top 5 Men’s Individual Standings Top 5 Men’s Team Standings
1. Francisco Mancebo ( — 822 pts 1. Bissell Pro Cycling — 2,622 pts
2. Jacobe Keough (UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling) — 740 2. UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling — 2,285
3. Luis Romero Amaran (Jamis/Sutter Home) — 646 3. Jamis/Sutter Home —2,146
4. Jonathan Cantwell (Team Fly V) — 622 4. Team Exergy — 1,338
5. Frank Pipp (Bissell Professional Cycling) — 550 5. — 1,314
Top 5 Women’s Individual Standings Top 5 Women’s Team Standings
1. Janel Holcomb (Colavita-Forno d’Asolo) —822 pts 1. Colavita-Forno d’Asolo — 3,767 pts
2. Leah Kirchmann (Colavita-Forno d’Asolo) — 587 2. Team TIBCO-To the Top —2,723
3. Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Colavita-Forno d’Asolo) — 559 3. HTC – Highroad Women — 1,260
4. Erinne Willock (Team TIBCO-To the Top) — 559 4. Diadora Pasta Zara — 531
5. Amber Neben (HTC-HighRoad) — 536 5. Primal/MapMyRider Women’s Racing — 461

See complete standings for men individual, women individual, men team and women team.

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.