Rock Racing takes control in Utah

The Rock Racing duo of Francisco Mancebo and Oscar Sevilla finished 1-2 on the 137 km (85 mi) Stage 1 of the Larry H Miller Tour of Utah, putting the yellow leader’s jersey on Mancebo’s shoulders.   The pair attacked on the   climb to the second and last KOM, caught and passed the break…

BMC’s Bookwalter books it in Utah

BMC’s Brent Bookwalter booked it at the opening act of the Larry H Miller Tour of Utah, clocking the fastest time of six minutes and twelve seconds in the 4.5 km (2.8 mi) prologue held at the State Capitol in Salt Lake City, Utah.  Current US Time Trial Champion David Zabriskie (Garmin-Slipstream) was second at…

Zirbel smokes the Elk Grove TT

Zirbelicious did it again and got a nice check of $4,000 for his efforts in the ‘cashtastic’ Alexian Brothers Tour of Elk Grove.  BISSELL’s Tom Zirbel clocked the fastest time of 8:25 in the 4.5-mile (7.2-km) MTI Construction time trial. This new time bested his winning result last year by 11 seconds on the same…

BMC to field team at four NRC events in 2009

In the good news department, the BMC Racing Team has been granted an event-specific derogation to UCI article 2.1.009 allowing them to compete in the following National Racing Calendar (NRC) events: Fitchburg Longsjo Classic, Cascade Cycling Classic, Tour of Elk Grove and Tour of Utah. “This represents a strong show of support by the UCI,…

Lapthorne wins stage 2 in Beauce; Wyss still in the lead

After working hard in a 3-man break for over 100 kilometers in stage 2 at the Tour de Beauce, Australian Darren Lapthorne (Rapha-Condor) soloed away from his break companions in the final kilometer to take the win in Thetford Mines. With the field literally on their heels or shall we say their wheels, the other two riders in the break, Philip Cortes (Garneau-Club Chaussure) and Peter Stetina (Felt-Holowesko Partners-Garmin) finished second and third. BMC’s Danilo Wyss holds on to yellow leader’s jersey. Now with photos.

BMC sweeps stage 1 at Tour de Beauce; Wyss takes lead

Continuing with their trademark agressive racing, the BMC team had a great day in the opening stage at the Tour de Beauce. Danilo Wyss outsprinted his breakmates to take the stage win, the yellow leader’s jersey and the white points jersey. Chad Beyer took the polka dot KOM jersey and the red best young rider jersey. Updated with quotes and photos.

Olds and Reaney win SugarCRM Memorial Day Crit

Both the pro/1/2 men’s and women’s races at the SugarCRM Memorial Day Criterium came down to bunch sprints. Proman’s Shelley Olds won the bunch sprint crossed the line ahead of Ruth Corset (Jazz Apples) and Mary Ellen Ash (SugarCRM). Steve Reaney (California Giant-Specialized) claimed victory in the men’s race besting Kevin Klein (Klein Real Estate) and BMC’s Jackson Stewart in the final field sprint. Photos.