How Scott Zwizanski tamed Beauce

Scott Zwizanski of the Kelly Benefit Strategies, finally believed he would win the overall classification of the Tour de Beauce on the last 10-km lap on the final stage  in St-Georges. “With ten laps to go, I didn’t know.” said Zwizanski who used up his teammates to chase down the incessant attacking by Team Type…

Another win for Rapha-Condor at the Tour de Beauce

Twenty-year old Matt Cronshaw (Rapha-Condor) outsmarted and outsprinted his breakmates to win the St-Georges Criterium held this evening after the morning time trial. Cronshaw went away early in the 40km race with Raymond Kreder (Felt-Holowesko Partners-Garmin) and  two riders of the Fly V Australia team, local favorite Charles Dionne and Australian Crit Champion Bernie Sulzberger. …

Colombians take over Tour de Beauce

Everyone was expecting it but it still happened. The riders from the Colombian National Team hit it hard at the bottom of the final climb up to the observatory at Mont Megantic, shredding the break a rider at a time to make it to the finish line and go 1-2 at the third stage at the Tour de Beauce. After some discussion during the climb, Darwin Apatuma crossed the line first followed by Sergio Luis Haneo. Neil Shirley (Kelly Benefit Strategies) had a great ride and finished third on the stage.

Lapthorne wins stage 2 in Beauce; Wyss still in the lead

After working hard in a 3-man break for over 100 kilometers in stage 2 at the Tour de Beauce, Australian Darren Lapthorne (Rapha-Condor) soloed away from his break companions in the final kilometer to take the win in Thetford Mines. With the field literally on their heels or shall we say their wheels, the other two riders in the break, Philip Cortes (Garneau-Club Chaussure) and Peter Stetina (Felt-Holowesko Partners-Garmin) finished second and third. BMC’s Danilo Wyss holds on to yellow leader’s jersey. Now with photos.

BMC sweeps stage 1 at Tour de Beauce; Wyss takes lead

Continuing with their trademark agressive racing, the BMC team had a great day in the opening stage at the Tour de Beauce. Danilo Wyss outsprinted his breakmates to take the stage win, the yellow leader’s jersey and the white points jersey. Chad Beyer took the polka dot KOM jersey and the red best young rider jersey. Updated with quotes and photos.

Tour de Beauce Preview

The 24th Tour de Beauce, a tough race of 6 stages in 6 day including a split stage is on the UCI Americas Calendar, starts today in Beauce, Quebec, Canada. “If the right conditions are there, it can be the hardest stage race of the year on the North American calendar.” said BMC Team Director…

Philly preview

Here I am back in Philly to cover the biggest one-day race in America, the 25th TD Bank Philadelphia International Cycling Championship and the 16th annual women’s Liberty Classic. My last time here was in 2005 when an ecstatic Chris Wherry attacked on the final climb up Lemon Hill to put a gap on his…

Cervélo TestTeam dominated Tour du Grand Montréal

After winning the Montreal World Cup, the Cervélo TestTeam dominated the Tour du Grand Montréal by winning four stages, three competition including the overall and the overall team classification. Kirsten Wild grabbed the leader’s jersey on the first day and never let go – and did the same for the Sprints classification.  Her teammate Regina…

Milne outsprints breakmates to win USAF Cycling Classic

After a long hard-fought 175 km (109.2-mile) and overcoming his own body, Team Type 1’s Shawn Milne outsprinted his breakmates to win the US Air Force Cycling Classic, UCI race on the USA Cycling Pro Tour series event in Crystal City, Va. Canadian Charles Dionne (Fly V Australia) was second and Scott Zwizanski (Kelly Benefit)…

Olds and Huff win omnium at Tulsa Tough

Hot weather, large crowds, fast racing and crashes – especially in the women’s races – over the weekend in Tulsa, Oklahoma as NRC points and big money were on the line at the 3 criteriums in 3 days of racing at the Tulsa Tough p/b The Children’s Hospital at Saint Francis. Jelly Belly’s Brad Hiff and Proman’s Shelley Olds won the omnium title.

Borrajo and Allar win USAF Clarendon Cup

Colavita/Sutter Home’s Alejandro Borrajo almost celebrated too soon his victory at the U.S. Air Force Cycling Classic Clarendon Cup. As he raised his arms, Team Type 1’s Ken Hanson was coming in full speed ahead and might have won if the line had been a few meters away, but Hanson had to settle for second…

Solo tour de force for Cervélo’s Emma Pooley at Montréal World Cup

Emma Pooley, of the Cervélo TestTeam, did something that is very rarely seen at a World Cup Event. She attacked in the first 400 meters of the climb of the first lap and went off to claim victory riding solo in the wind for the next 110 kilometers at the 12th edition of the Montréal World Cup. Emma Johansson (Swedish National Team) won the sprint for second place over Trixie Worrack (Nürnberger).

On tap: Tulsa Tough, AFCC Clarendon Cup, AFCC, Montreal World Cup, Junior World Championships Trials

Both men’s and women’s teams have to make some hard decision this weekend with multiple NRC races going on at the same time: the 3-crits/3-day Tulsa Tough in Tulsa, Oklahoma and the U.S. Air Force Cycling Classic Clarendon Cup in Arlington VA. And then to complicate matter even more, the U.S. Air Force Cycling Classic also in Arlington, which is on the USA Pro Tour, is on for the men and the Montreal World Cup for the women. And for the Juniors, the Road World Championship Trials are being held in Nashville.

Teams announced for Tour of Utah

Earlier today, the Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah organizers announced the sixteen teams that have thus far committed to compete in the 2009 race billed as ‘America’s Toughest Stage Race’. These athletes will compete for a share of the $45,000 purse and NRC points. The 2009 Tour of Utah will take place August 18-23…

Olds and Reaney win SugarCRM Memorial Day Crit

Both the pro/1/2 men’s and women’s races at the SugarCRM Memorial Day Criterium came down to bunch sprints. Proman’s Shelley Olds won the bunch sprint crossed the line ahead of Ruth Corset (Jazz Apples) and Mary Ellen Ash (SugarCRM). Steve Reaney (California Giant-Specialized) claimed victory in the men’s race besting Kevin Klein (Klein Real Estate) and BMC’s Jackson Stewart in the final field sprint. Photos.