Canadian Team for Road Worlds

Posted on 13. Sep, 2012 by in news, releases

Finally, Cycling Canada announced today – via twitter – the riders named to represent Canada at the 2012 UCI Road World Championships, set for September 15 to 23 in Limburg, Netherlands.

The event starts on September 16 with the newly added Team Time Trial race for professional cycling teams, and closes on September 23 with the marquee Elite Men Road Race.

Canada secured four spots for the men elite road race, six for the women elite road race, four for the women junior road race and three for the men U23 road race and men junior road race. For each time trial category, Canada secured two spots. The selection pool for elite and u23 men was named two weeks ago.

Elite Men

  • Ryder HESJEDAL (Victoria, BC/Garmin-Sharp) [2012 Olympian] *
  • François PARISIEN (Repentigny, QC/Team SpiderTech p/b C10)
  • Svein TUFT (Langley, BC/Orica-GreenEDGE) *
  • David Veilleux (Cap Rouge, QC/Team EuropCar)

Elite Women

  • Lex Albrecht (Barrie, ON/Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies)
  • Karol-Ann Canuel (Amos, QC/Vienne-Futuroscope)
  • Leah Kirchmann (Winnipeg, MB/Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies) [Medalist, 2012 Pan-American Championships]
  • Véronique Labonté (La Guadeloupe, QC/CSM Epinay sur Seine)
  • Joëlle Numainville (Montréal, QC/Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies) *
  • Rhae-Christie SHAW (Amherstburg, ON/Team Exergy Twenty12) **

Under23 Men

  • David Boily (Québec, QC/Team SpiderTech p/b C10) *
  • Antoine Duchesne (Blainville, QC/Garneau-Québécor) [Canadian Champion, Road Race]
  • Hugo Houle (Ste-Perpétue, QC/Team SpiderTech p/b C10) [Canadian Champion, Time Trial] *

Junior Men

  • Nigel ELLSAY (Courtenay, BC/Cycling BC) *
  • Benjamin PERRY (St. Catharines, ON/Team CHCH) *
  • Christopher PRENDERGAST (Winnipeg, MB/Team Manitoba)

Junior Women

  • Ariane BONHOMME (Gatineau, QC/Équipe du Québec)
  • Allyson GILLARD (Beaupré, QC/Équipe du Québec) *
  • Saskia KOWALCHUK (Toronto, ON/Team CHCH) *
  • Audrey LABRIE (Prévost, QC/Team

* : these riders will also be racing in the time trial as well as the road race
** : Shaw will race in the time trial only

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.