Canadian Selection Pool For 2012 Road Worlds

Posted on 28. Aug, 2012 by in news

Earlier today, Cycling Canada announced the list of 12 elite men shortlisted to the selection pool to represent Canada at the 2012 UCI Road World Championships, set for September 15 to 23 in Limburg, Netherlands.

Ryan Roth (Spidertech) at 2012 Tour of Utah

Ryan Roth (Spidertech) at 2012 Tour of Utah

The list is headlined by five riders who are racing with professional teams on the UCI World Tour. The list includes 2012 Giro d’Italia winner and 2012 Olympian Ryder Hesjedal, the 2012 Canadian Road Race Champion Ryan Roth, as well as 2012 Canadian Time Trial Champion Svein Tuft.

Canada secured four spots for the men elite road race, six for the women elite road race, four for the women junior road race and three for the men U23 road race and men junior road race. For each time trial category, Canada secured two spots.

The short list for elite women, under23 men, junior men and women were announced earlier this summer.

The elite women pool is headlined by Canadian Champions Denise Ramsden and Clara Hughes, who took the Canadian titles in the Road race and Time Trials respectively. Leah Kirchmann and Rhae Shaw received Automatic selection to the pool, winning medals at the 2012 UCI Pan-American Championships in Mar del Plata, Argentina, earlier this spring.

Antoine Duchesne, who won the U23 road race at the recent Canadian Championships, and Hugo Houle, who came who posted the fastest time among the young riders, will also be strong contenders looking to secure spots for the World Championships.

Tara Whitten is also in the selection pool. Whitten was Canada’s top rider at the previous edition of the Road World Championships, taking the fourth place in the women’s time trial.

The final composition of the Canadian squad will be announced shortly before the event.

Elite Men – Road Race

  • Michael Barry (Team Sky Pro Cycling)
  • Guillaume Boivin (Team SpiderTech p/b C10)
  • Marsh Cooper (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies)
  • Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Sharp) [2012 Olympian]
  • Bruno Langlois (Garneau-Québécor)
  • Christian Meier (Orica-GreenEdge)
  • François Parisien (Team SpiderTech p/b C10)
  • Dominique Rollin (Française-Des-Jeux)
  • Ryan Roth (Team SpiderTech p/b C10) [Canadian Champion, Road Race]
  • Sebastien Salas (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies)
  • Svein Tuft (Orica-GreenEdge)
  • David Veilleux (Team EuropCar)

Elite Men – Time Trial

  • Ryder Hesjedal (Garmin-Sharp) [2012 Olympian]
  • Christian Meier (Orica-GreenEdge)
  • Svein Tuft (Orica-GreenEdge) [Canadian Champion, Time Trial]

Elite Women

  • Lex Albrecht (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies)
  • Julie Beveridge (Vienne-Futuroscope)
  • Karol-Ann Canuel (Vienne-Futuroscope)
  • Gillian Carleton
  • Annie Ewart (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies)
  • Jasmin Glaesser
  • Clara Hughes (Specialized-lululemon) [Canadian Champion, Time Trial]
  • Leah Kirchmann (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies) [Medalist, 2012 Pan-American Championships]
  • Véronique Labonté (CSM Epinay sur Seine)
  • Joëlle Numainville (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies)
  • Denise Ramsden (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies) [Canadian Champion, Road Race]
  • Rhae Shaw (Exergy TWENTY12) [Medalist, 2012 Pan-American Championships]
  • Tara Whitten (TIBCO -To The Top)

Under23 Men

  • Ryan Aitcheson (Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist)
  • David Boily (Team SpiderTech p/b C10)
  • Antoine Duchesne (Garneau-Québécor) [Canadian Champion, Road Race]
  • Hugo Houle  (Team SpiderTech p/b C10) [Canadian Champion, Time Trial]
  • Simon Lambert-Lemay   (Team SpiderTech p/b C10)
  • Pierrick Naud (EKOI-Gaspesien)
  • Rémi Pelletier-Roy (Garneau-Québécor)
  • Stuart Wight (CR4C Roanne)

Junior Men

  • Olivier Brisebois
  • Nigel Ellsay
  • Brandon Etzl
  • Yohan Patry
  • Benjamin Perry
  • Christopher Prendergast
  • Olivier Miclette
  • Marc-Antoine Soucy

Junior Women

  • Ariane Bonhomme
  • Saskia Kowalchuk
  • Audrey Labrie
  • Allyson Gillard
  • Madeleine McConnell
  • Kinley Gibson

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.