Medina Robles Wins Final Stage, Eisenhart Leads GC Podium Sweep At Tour de l’Abitibi

Posted on 23. Jul, 2012 by in race

Though the USA National team did not place on rider on the podium of the final stage, they dominated the 44th Tour de l’Abitibi which ended yesterday. The team took the top 3 in the final GC, won the team classification and took home the three final jerseys with TJ Eisenhart in the brown leader’s jersey, Alexander Darville in the orange points jersey and Geoffrey Curran in the blue best young rider jersey. Eisenhart also won the KOM classification.

“Super pumped, I’m really excited about this win.” Eisenhart said after the stage.

“Ever since I abandoned last year I’ve been looking for revenge and coming back this year.” said Eisenhart who had to pull out last year with a injury sustained on a crash on the penultimate stage. “My expectations for this year were just to come back to race my bike, go as hard as I could, make sure to be aggressive and see what good of it. Luckily came away with the win.”

Eisenhart said that he did come into the race with a goal of winning the overall. “Normally this race is won by a sprinter so my hopes to maybe get a stage win and also work for my teammates to get a stage win. It all worked out in the end I guess.”

The Tour of l’Abitibi is a men junior 17/18 international stage race in Abitibi-Témiscamingue, an area located in northwestern Québec (Canada). It is the only competition of that scope in North America.

The finale of the last 97-km stage was decided on the first of the ten finishing circuits raced after a 43km stretch. A seven-rider took off and stuck until the finish line. The move included the brown jersey himself Eisenhart and his teammates Curren and Alexey Vermeulen, Gerardo Vicente Medina Robles (Major Motion Development), Lucas Wardein (Southeastern Regional), Justin Oien (USA Selection A) and Wilson Steeven Cardona Garcia (Colombie).

With one lap to go, the gap was over two minutes with Elliott Doyle (Equipe de Québec) leading the chase but the seven were long gone. The break stayed together until the finish where Medina Robles took the win in a tight sprint against Wardein and Oien who finished second and third respectively. Darville took the field sprint for eighth place two minutes later.

Eisenhart won the overall with 1:03 on his teammate Vermeulen. Curran moved up the third place, at 1:06 down and took over the blue jersey from his teammate Logan Owen‘s shoulder.

The organizing closed were very happy with the 44th edition of the Tour de l’Abitibi. “I am extremely satisfied with the way the Tour played out this year. The organizing committee was proactive, there was a lot of collaboration, and everything went smoothly. I was under the impression that the members of the committee had many years of experience. However, most of them were at their first experience with the Tour!” commented the president, Suzanne Fortin, at the end of the last race. The 45th edition of the Tour de l’Abitibi, which will also take place in Rouyn-Noranda, is looking very promising.

Stage 7 Top 10 Results
1. Gerardo Vicente Medina Robles (MEX) Major Motion Development 2:16:59
2. Lucas Wardein (USA) Southeastern Regional
3. Justin Oien (USA) USA Selection A
4. Alexey Vermeulen (USA) USA
5. Wilson Steeven Cardona Garcia (COL) Colombie
6. Geoffrey Curran (USA) USA
7. Taylor Eisenhart (USA) USA 0:04
8. Alexander Darville (USA) USA 2:01
9. Miguel Bryon (USA) USA Selection A
10. Gregory Ratzell (USA) Young Medalists / Team Rothrock

Final Top 10 GC
1. Taylor Eisenhart (USA) USA 13:45:09
2. Alexey Vermeulen (USA) USA 1:03
3. Geoffrey Curran (USA) USA 1:06
4. Justin Oien (USA) USA Selection A 1:25
5. Gerardo Vicente Medina Robles (MEX) Major Motion Development 1:41
6. Wilson Steeven Cardona Garcia (COL) Colombie 1:50
7. Lucas Wardein (USA) Southeastern Regional) 1:55
8. Alexander Darville (USA) USA 2:40
9. Gregory Daniel (USA) USA 2:44
10. Brandon Etzl (CAN) Canada 3:03


Comments are closed.