Team USA 2012 Olympic Long Team for Women’s Road and MTB

Posted on 01. Dec, 2011 by in news, releases

A total 30 athletes make up the women’s road and men’s and women’s mountain-bike long team to represent the United States at the 2012 London Olympic Games.

As part of its Olympic Team nomination process, USA Cycling names a Long Team of eligible athletes for men’s and women’s mountain bike and women’s road cycling; men’s and women’s track cycling and men’s and women’s BMX. This long team serves as a pool of riders from which the Olympic Team will be selected.

Women’s Road Long Team. four of the 13 athletes in women’s road long team met the automatic nomination criteria:  Robin Farina (NOW and Novartis for MS), Megan Guarnier (Team TIBCO), Amber Neben (HTC-Highroad) and Evelyn Stevens (HTC-Highroad). Farina, a North Carolina bike shop owner and coach, earned her automatic nomination by virtue of winning the 2011 USA Cycling Elite Women’s Road Race National Championship. Guarnier by winning the  overall victory at the 2011 Giro Toscana. Neben, a 2008 Olympian and time trial world champion, is ranked inside the top 25 in international ranking points giving her an automatic berth. Stevens, a former Wall Street banker, secured her spot on the Long Team with a win at the 2011 USA Cycling Elite Women’s Time Trial National Championship.

Nine additional women’s road cyclists will join the four as discretionary selections, including: 2008 Olympic time trial gold medalist Kristin Armstrong (Team Exergy 2012), Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Colavita-Forno d’Asolo), Andrea Dvorak (Colavita-Forno d’Asolo), 2011 USA Cycling National Racing Calendar champion Janel Holcomb (Colavita-Forno d’Asolo), Kristin McGrath (Team Exergy 2012), Amanda Miller (HTC-Highroad), Shelley Olds (Diadora-Pasta Zara), Carmen Small (Team TIBCO) and Lauren Tamayo (Team Exergy 2012).

Men’s Mountain Bike Long Team. Five of the eight men received automatic nominations: 2008 mountain bike Olympian Todd Wells (Specialized), who finished inside the top 10, in seventh, at the 2011 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships and finished 10th in 2011 UCI World Cup #1;  26 year-old Sam Schultz (Subaru-Trek) is the youngest automatic nominee, after finishing third overall in USA Cycling’s 2011 Pro Cross-Country Tour (Pro XCT) standings. 2004 mountain bike Olympian Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Subaru-Trek), Jeremiah Bishop (Cannondale) and 2008 mountain bike Olympian Adam Craig (Rabobank-Giant) all finished inside the top 60 of the UCI individual world rankings, therefore earning automatic nominations to the Long Team.

2011 USA Cycling Mountain Bike Cross-Country national champion in the U23 division Stephen Ettinger (BMC), Spencer Paxson (Kona) and Michael Broderick (Kenda-Seven-NoTubes) all received discretionary nods.

Women’s Mountain Bike Long Team. Five women earned automatic nominations. With top 10 finishes at the 2011 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships, UCI Mountain Bike World Cups #6 and #7 and as the winner of USA Cycling Pro XCT in 2011, Lea Davison (Specialized) locked up her automatic nomination. With a fifth-place finish at the 2011 UCI World Cup #5 and second overall in the 2011 Pro XCT, 2008 mountain bike Olympian Georgia Gould (Luna) secured her spot. Heather Irmiger (Subaru-Trek) earned the automatic nod after finishing the year ranked 24th internationally. Mountain bike Olympian in 2004 and 2008, Mary McConneloug (Kenda-Seven-NoTubes) and Katie Compton (Rabobank) also earned automatic nominations via their top-50 international ranking.

Willow Rockwell (Trek World Racing), who won the bronze medal at the 2009 and 2010 World Championships is a discretionary nominee, along with Chloe (Forsman) Woodruff (BMC), Krista Park (Cannondale-No Tubes) and <Judy Freeman (Kenda-Felt).

The Long Team rosters for men’s and women’s track cycling are set to be unveiled on Dec. 15. The Long Team for men’s BMX will be announced on May 31, 2012, in advance of the June 16 BMX Olympic Trials in Chula Vista, Calif. The women’s BMX selection process does not include the naming of a Long Team.

The selection process of athletes to the men’s road squad does not include the naming of a Long Team. Instead, the team that will represent the United States in London will be determined by competitive results at major international events throughout the 2011 and 2012 racing seasons. To date none has yet met the automatic nomination criteria.

Women’s Road Long Team

  • Kristin Armstrong (Boise, Idaho/Team Exergy 2012)
  • Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Cedar Springs, Mich./Colavita-Forno d’Asolo)
  • Andrea Dvorak (Crozet, Va./Colavita-Forno d’Asolo)
  • Robin Farina (Charlotte, N.C./NOW and Novartis for MS)*
  • Megan Guarnier (Mountain View, Calif./Team TIBCO)*
  • Janel Holcomb (San Diego, Calif./Colavita-Forno d’Asolo)
  • Kristin McGrath (Durango, Colo./Team Exergy 2012)
  • Amanda Miller (Fort Collins, Colo./HTC-Highroad)
  • Amber Neben (Irvine, Calif./HTC-Highroad)*
  • Shelley Olds (Gilroy, Calif./ Diadora-Pasta Zara)
  • Carmen Small (Durango, Colo./Team TIBCO)
  • Evelyn Stevens (Dennis, Mass./HTC-Highroad)*
  • Lauren Tamayo (Asheville, N.C./Team Exergy 2012)

Men’s Mountain Bike Long Team

  • Jeremiah Bishop(Harrisonburg, Va./Cannondale)*
  • Michael Broderick (Chilmark, Mass./Kenda-Seven-NoTubes)
  • Adam Craig (Bend, Ore./Rabobank-Giant)*
  • Stephen Ettinger (Cashmere, Wash./BMC)
  • Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Boulder, Colo./Subaru-Trek)*
  • Spencer Paxson (Seattle, Wash./Kona)
  • Sam Schultz (Missoula, Mont./Subaru-Trek)*
  • Todd Wells (Durango, Colo./Specialized)*

Women’s Mountain Bike Long Team

  • Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo./Rabobank)*
  • Lea Davison (Jericho, Vt./Specialized)*
  • Judy Freeman (Brighton, Colo./Kenda-Felt)
  • Georgia Gould (Fort Collins, Colo./Luna) *
  • Heather Irmiger (Boulder, Colo./Subaru-Trek)*
  • Mary McConneloug (Fairfax, Calif./Kenda-Seven-NoTubes)*
  • Krista Park (Madison, S.D./Cannondale-No Tubes)
  • Willow Rockwell (Durango, Colo./Trek World Racing)
  • Chloe Woodruff (Tucson, Ariz./BMC)

*Automatic Nomination

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.