USA Pro Cycling Challenge Stage 6 – Preview

Posted on 27. Aug, 2011 by in race, releases

Stage 5 of USA Pro Cycling Challenge, Golden to Denver

USA Pro Cycling Challenge Stage 6

USA Pro Cycling Challenge Stage 6

The final stage takes us along another highly anticipated route – the climb up and the descent down the treacherous Lookout Mountain, where the overall King of the Mountain winner will be decided. The riders will start under Golden’s famous “Howdy Folks” welcome arch, take a northern loop out of town, ride past the start line a second time, and then make the challenging ride up Lookout Mountain. At an average 6.1 percent grade and 1,300 ft. (396 m) of elevation gain over 4.8 miles (7.7 km), this section provides an intense challenge on the tour’s final day.

After a treacherous descent down the winding roads of Lookout Mountain, the cyclists are back again for a third time past the start line in Golden. The racers then speed toward Denver, where they take six laps of a 4.7-mile (7.5-km) circuit along Speer Blvd. before heading past the original Quiznos store at 13th and Grant to reach the finish line in Civic Center Park.

USA Pro Cycling Challenge Stage 6 Profile

USA Pro Cycling Challenge Stage 6 Profile

Date: Sunday, August 28, 2011
Distance: 70.9 mi./115.9 km + neutral of 1.1 miles (1.8 km)
Start Time: 10:45 am MT (09:45 am PT/12:45 pm ET)
ETA Finish: 1:30 pm – 1:45 pm MT (12:30 pm – 12:45 pm PT/3:30 pm – 3:35 pm ET)
KOM Lookout Mountain – Cat. 3 at 7,317 ft (2,230.2 m) at mile 15.1 (km 24.2)
Sprint Denver at finish line with 6 laps to go, at mile 42.9 (at km 69.1)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.