USA Pro Cycling Challenge Stage 5 – Preview

Posted on 26. Aug, 2011 by in race, releases

Stage 5 of USA Pro Cycling Challenge, Steamboat Springs to Breckenridge

USA Pro Cycling Challenge Stage 5

USA Pro Cycling Challenge Stage 5

The penultimate stage starts in Werner Mountain, where the cyclists will take off under the watchful eye of Steamboat’s primary ski hill. At only 11-miles into the stage, the double-summit Rabbit Ears Pass is the first opportunity for an attack and to get more KOM points. After cresting, downhill on rolling and exposed roads all the way to the sprint line in Kremmling and the road goes up once again alongside the Green Mountain Reservoir to the second KOM of the day, Swan Mountain less than 9 miles to the finish line in Breckenbridge.

USA Pro Cycling Challenge Profile Stage 5

USA Pro Cycling Challenge Profile Stage 5

Note: though profile shows two intermediate sprint line, the stage timetable only has one.

Date: Saturday, August 27, 2011
Distance: 105.2miles (170.2 km) + neutral of 3.5 miles (5.7 km)
Start Time: 11:20 am MT (10:20 am PT/1:20 pm ET)
ETA Finish: 3:32 pm – 4:17 pm MT (2:32 pm – 3:17 pm PT/5:32 pm – 6:32 ET)
KOM #1 Rabbit Ears Pass – Cat 2 at 9,410 ft (2,868 m) at mile 11.7 (km 18.7)
KOM #2 Swan Mountain – Cat. 3 at 9,525 ft (2,903 m) at mile 96.8 (km 155.8)
Sprint Kremmling at mile 56.6 (km 79.1)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.