USA Pro Cycling Challenge Stage 1 – Preview

Posted on 23. Aug, 2011 by in race, releases

Stage 1 of USA Pro Cycling Challenge from Salida to Crested Butte/Mt. Crested Butte

USA Pro Cycling Challenge Stage 1

USA Pro Cycling Challenge Stage 1

With a start in Salida, Colorado’s cycling mecca and the race’s smallest start city, racers will take a circuit through downtown Salida before heading on their way on this 102-mile course to Mt. Crested Butte. The first KOM comes at 26.2 miles into the stage at Monarch Pass at 11,315 feet. The climb will push the riders to gain 3250 feet in elevation over 13 miles and will be their first taste of the oxygen-deprived Colorado high altitude.

After this challenge, the cyclists will have two sprint lines to compete for – one in Gunnison and one near the finish line in Crested Butte.

Stage 1  ends on an uphill climb, from the lower area of Crested Butte to the finish line on Mt. Crested Butte – the USA Pro Cycling Challenge’s only mountain top finish.

USA Pro Cycling Challenge Stage 1 Profile

USA Pro Cycling Challenge Stage 1 Profile

Date: Tuesday, August 23, 2011
Distance: 99.3 miles / 159.8 km
Neutral: 3.3 miles / 5.3 km
Total Climb: 8,020 feet / 2,444.5 meters
Start Time: 11:45 am MT (10:45 am PT/1:45 pm ET)
ETA Finish: 3:41 pm to 4:23 pm MT (2:41 pm-3:23 pm PT/5:41 pm-6:23 pm ET)
KOM #1 Monarch Pass – Cat. 2 at 11,312′ (3,447.9 m) at 26.5 mile/42.6 km
Sprint #1 Gunnison  at 67.8 mile/109.1
Sprint #2 Crested Butte at 96.3 mile/154.9 km

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.