Mancebo, Neben Still Top NRC After Sunny King Criterium

Posted on 11. Apr, 2011 by in news, releases

The 2011 National Racing Calendar continued with Saturday night’s Sunny King Criterium on a .7-mile circuit along the streets of Anniston, Ala. Jonathan Cantwell (V Australia) won the top spot of the men’s podium ahead of Mike Northey (PureBlack Racing) and Rahsaan Bahati (SKLZ p/b Pista Place).

On the women’s side, the Italian Colavita/Forno D’Asolo team dominated with Janel Holcomb leading the way. Holcomb earned her first NRC win pulling away from the pack. Samantha Schneider (TIBCO/To the Top) led the sprint group behind Holcomb to take second place ahead of Kelly Benjamin (Colavita/Forno D’Asolo).

After two races, Francisco Mancebo ( holds a 77-point lead in the 2011 Men’s NRC Standings over Benjamin Jacques-Maynes (BISSELL Pro Cycling Team). Cantwell, Chris Baldwin (Juwi Solar-First Solar) and Andres Diaz (Team Exergy) round out the top five. still holds a sizable margin in the 2011 Men’s NRC Team Standings over BISSELL Pro Cycling Team. Chipotle Development has a two-point advantage over Team Exergy with PureBlack Racing sitting in fifth.

Amber Neben (HTC-Highroad Women) has a large lead over Erinne Willock (Team TIBCO/To the Top) in the 2011 Women’s NRC Standings. Evelyn Stevens (HTC-Highroad Women) sits three points ahead of Carmen Small (Team TIBCO/To the Top) and 13 points ahead of Holcomb.

After its strong showing at the Sunny King Criterium, Colavita/Forno D’Asolo has a narrow four-point edge over HTC-Highroad Women atop the 2011 Women’s Team NRC Standings. TIBCO to the Top sits in third place well ahead of Rouse Bicycles and Missing Link Coaching Systems/Specialized.

Top 5 Men’s Individual Standings Top 5 Men’s Team Standings
1. Francisco Mancebo ( — 217 pts 1. — 330 pts
2. Benjamin Jacques-Maynes (Bissell Pro Cycling Team) — 140 2. Bissell Pro Cycling Team — 194
3. Jonathan Cantwell (V Australia) — 110 3. Chipotle Development Team — 143
4. Christopher Baldwin (Juwi Solar-First Solar) — 106 4. Team Exergy — 141
5. Andres Diaz Corales (Team Exergy) — 98 5. PureBlack Racing — 109
Top 5 Women’s Individual Standings Top 5 Women’s Team Standings
1. Amber Neben (HTC-Highroad Women) — 217 pts 1. Colavita/Forno d’Asolo — 385 pts
2. Erinne Willock (Team TIBCO/To the Top) — 130 2. HTC-Highroad — 381
3. Evelyn Stevens (HTC Highroad Women) — 116 3. Team TIBCO/To the Top — 351
4. Carmen Small (Team TIBCO/To the Top) — 113 4. Rouse Bicycles’ Elite Women’s Team — 89
5. Janel Holcomb (Colavita/Forno d’Asolo) — 103 5. Missing Link Coaching Systems/Specialized — 31

See complete standings for men individual, women individual, men team and women team.

The USA Cycling’s 2011 National Racing Calendar continues with the SRAM Tour of the Gila in Silver City, N.M., from April 27-May 1 for both the women and the men.

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.