Borrajo Dedicates Win To Late Brother

Posted on 26. Mar, 2011 by in race

Outsprinting the field, an emotional Anibal Borrajo (Jamis/Sutter Home) raised his arms, pointed to the sky claimed the win at stage 2 of the San Dimas Stage Race. The victory was dedicated to his brother Armando who tragically passed away last December.

An emotional Anibal Borrajo dedicated his victory to his late brother Armando

An emotional Anibal Borrajo dedicated his victory to his late brother Armando

“I want to dedicate my victory to Armando and all the people that have supported my family. We have many friends here in the US and in Argentina and this win was for them.” Borrajo said afterwards, his voice subdued with emotion.

Sprinter Borrajo stayed safely in the field throughout the 135 km (84 mi) race while the Kenda 5 Hour p/b GearGrinder lined up at the front to control the gap to the break. Lap after lap, ten of the eleven laps, Borrajo waited. The field was all together by the time the bell rang. A final attacker was chased down and Borrajo had his teammates with him at the top of the climb. And Borrajo pounced.

After spending many laps in the break,’s Cole House dug deeper and sprinted for second with his teammate Francisco Mancebo taking third.

See race hub page and photo gallery

Defending the jersey. That was the mission of the Kenda 5 Hour p/b GearGrinder squad. Not the first time that GC leader Ben Day has found himself marshalling his troops but it was the first time for the Kenda team.

“It was really interesting, we have Ben who is always in jerseys and he’s used to having guys ride for him and other guys it’s the first time on a team in which you’re riding [in defense] and then there are people in between.” explained Day’s teammate Shawn Milne. “Some people had opinions which they shouldn’t have and some people didn’t have opinions that maybe they should have but we to away with it, it ended up being great so that’s all that matters.”

Shawn Milne at the front of the Kenda pb GearGrinder train

Shawn Milne at the front of the Kenda pb GearGrinder train

Milne, like his teammates, spent many laps at the front with Day directing in his booming voice. “I was worried that we were on the front too early, we did eleven laps but it’s going to make us stronger.”

Three riders were off the front early on, two Kiwis on Pure Black Racing, Roman Van Uden and Mike Northey and Eric Schildge (Jamis/Sutter Home) established a gap of over a minute. Halfway through the race, wily Chris Baldwin (Team juwi solar/First Solar) took advantage of a decreasing gap to bridge across and push the pace once again. The gap was up to one minute with four laps to go making Baldwin the virtual rider on the road.

Milne admits to being concerned. “We were a bit worried at one point and luckily Ben, the veteran that he is, ‘look we have one card to play let’s just do it, let’s keep rolling and whatever happens happens.’ Somehow we pulled it back,” he laughed, “I had my doubts.”

A re-shuffle in the break as more riders bridged up but Kenda kept on pulling to reel everyone back in with one lap to go.

Van Uden takes over the KOM classification. Moving up to 13th on GC at 59 seconds down, Joseph Schmalz (ELBOWZ Racing) takes over the lead in the U24 classification.

25 riders were time cut and a further 23 DNFed.

Racing continues tomorrow with the 90-minute criterium. Is the team ready to defend again? Milne smiled and replied “We’ll see.”

The men’s race starts at 3pm – follow @podium_live for updates.

Stage 2 Top 10 Results (Complete Results)
1. Anibal Borrajo (Jamis Sutter Home Pro Cycling) 3:24:03
2. Cole House ( Pro Cycling Team) st
3. Francisco Mancebo (( Pro Cycling Team)
4. James Williamson (Pure Black Racing)
5. Cesar Grajales ( Pro Cycling Team)
6. Tyler Wren (Jamis Sutter Home Pro Cycling)
7. Matt Cooke (Team Exergy)
8. Ben Day (Kenda p/b Geargrinder)
9. Luis Amaran (Jamis Sutter Home Pro Cycling)
10. Frank Pipp ((BISSELL Pro Cycling)

Top 10 GC After Stage 2
1. Ben Day (Kenda p/b GearGrinder) 3:36:51
2. Matt Cooke (Team Exergy) +00:14
3. Tyler Wren (Jamis Sutter Home Pro Cycling) +00:17
4. Francisco Mancebo ( Pro Cycling Team) st
5. Cesar Grajales ( Pro Cycling Team) +00:20
6. Luis Amaran (Jamis Sutter Home Pro Cycling) +00:33
7. Paul Mach (BISSELL Pro Cycling) +00:34
8. Christopher Baldwin (Team juwi solar/First Solar) st
9 Andres Diaz (Team Exergy) +00:36
10. Heath Blackgrove (ELBOWZ Racing) +00:43

Top 5 KOM After Stage 2
1. Roman Van Uden (Pure Black Racing)
2. Ben Day (Kenda p/b GearGrinder) 25
3. Matt Cooke (Team Exergy) 20
4. Eric Schildge (Jamis Sutter Home Pro Cycling) 20
5. Mike Northey (Pure Black Racing) 20

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.