4 North American UCI Women Teams In 2011

Posted on 13. Jan, 2011 by in news

A total of 28 UCI Women’s Teams are registered for the 2011 season, an increment of one compared to last year and include three from the United States, Diadora-Pasta Zara, HTC-High Road and TIBCO-To The Top and one from Canada, Juvederm-Specialized.

TIBCO is back. The only UCI team registered in the USA last year, TIBCO-To The Top is returning with changes on its roster that include new riders 2009 NRC individual champion Alison Powers, Carmen Small and Kendall Ryan from the USA, Canadian Tara Whitten who won the gold medal in the 2010 Commonwealth Games individual time trial, Canadian Road Champion Joëlle Numainville and Erinne Willock. Also joining the team are 21-year-old Australian Carlee Taylor and Kiwi Serena Sheridan. Taylor just won the Australian U23 National Road Title and finished third in the U23 time trial Serena Sheridan while Sheridan won silver at the New Zealand National Road Championships.

Team TIBCO/To The Top wins overall Team Classification at Nature Valley Grand Prix

Team TIBCO/To The Top wins overall Team Classification at Nature Valley Grand Prix

Team Captain Meredith Miller leads the returning group of Team TIBCO riders with two-time U23 national criterium champion Samantha Schneider, Kiwi Joanne Kiesanowski, Megan Guarnier and super domestique Emma Mackie.

A notable name missing from the roster is sprinter Brooke Miller who was with TIBCO since the team’s inception in 2006. Miller who is still the only woman to win both the national road and criterium championships in the same year, decided to retire and focus on her life.

Back to USA. Certainly not a team, but after years of being registered in Germany, HTC High Road is now registered in the USA. The formidable Ina-Yoko Teutenberg is also back. Cycling’s most prolific winner in 2009 and 2010 extended her contract with HTC-Highroad for another two years. Last year alone Teutenberg’s haul of 24 races included four stages of the Tour of Italy, three stages in the Tour de L’Aude in France, a stage and the overall of the Redlands Classic in the USA and a World Cup win in China. Also returning are Judith Arndt, Emilia Fahlin, Chloe Hosking, Ellen van Dijk and Evelyn Stevens.

Kim Anderson, Ina Teutenberg, Chloe Hosking, Evelyn Stevens and Emila Fahlin with HTC-High Road owner Bob Stapleton,

Kim Anderson, Ina Teutenberg, Chloe Hosking, Evelyn Stevens and Emila Fahlin with HTC-High Road owner Bob Stapleton,

The team also brought in 3 new American riders for 2011, Amber Neben, Amanda Miller and Ally Stacher. Neben is a former World Time Trial Champion and US National Road Champion, a two-time winner of the Tour de l’Aude and represented the USA in the 2008 Olympics in Beijing. Miller, who turned pro in 2010 with TIBCO, won the criterium at Tulsa Tough as well as the 12 percent cobbled climb at Iowa’s Snake Alley. Also joining the team is South African Carla Swart who while at Lees-McRae became the first athlete to ever to secure US collegiate titles in all cycling disciplines in a single year, 2008.

Mara Abbott (Peanut Butter Co TWENTY12)  won the U26 jersey at Tour of the Gila

Mara Abbott (Peanut Butter Co TWENTY12) won the U26 jersey at Tour of the Gila

From Italy. Diadora-Pasta Zara, based in Italy and part of the same structure as the men’s Geox-TMC squad and registered in the USA. Last year, the team, under the name Safi-Pasta Zara was registered in Lithuania. 2011 brought a new title sponsor with Diadora and American influx with riders US National Champion Mara Abbott, Sinead Miller, Shelley Olds and Amber Rais Pierce.

Returning from the Safi-Pasta Zara team are Italian Eleonora Patuzzo, Russian Olga Zabelinskaya, Lithuania Inga Cilvinaite and Alona Andruk of the Ukraine. Also joining the team in 2011 is Claudia Hausler who was the 2006 Road German Championship in 2006 and won the Giro Donne and the Tour de l’Aude in 2009. With 2010 Giro Donne winner Abbott and Hausler on board, the team will focus on winning the maglia rosa once again and will also race in the USA.

Véronique Labonté was with Nanoblurs-Gears in 2010

Véronique Labonté was with Nanoblurs-Gears in 2010

Oh Canada. For the first time since 2007, Canada also has a UCI Women’s team Juvedern-Specialized with 10 Canadian women and 1 American on its roster. Riders on the team are Véronique Labonté, Lex Albrecht, Anne Guzman, Joanie Caron, Moriah MacGregor, Denise Ramsden, Krystal Jeffs, Jenny Trew, Véronique Draveau and Valérie Crête of Canada and American Mary Zider.

Team president Gerard Penarroya told RadioCanada that they want to keep the high Canadian ratio on the team to provide an advantage to the Canadian Athletes working towards the Olympic Games either in 2012 or 2016.After years with the Canadian Development Team and Cascades-ABC Cycles and Nanoblur-Gears teams, Labonté is aiming for the Canadian National TT title and to represent Canada at both the Commonwealth Games in 2014 and Olympic Games in 2016.

Ciao. The Colavita/Baci Women’s Cycling Team p/bCooking Light merged with Italy’s UCI registered team ASC Chirio Forno D’Asolo to form the Forno D’Asolo Colavita in 2011. Riders from Colavita/Baci that are returning with the team include Rushlee Buchanan, Cath Cheatley, Heather Logan-Sprenger, Andrea Dvorak, Modesta Vzesniauskaite and Theresa Cliff-Ryan.

A smiling Colavita/Baci team at Sea Otter Classic

A smiling Colavita/Baci team at Sea Otter Classic

Joining the team is World champion Giorgia Bronzini of Italy. Bronzini rode successfully with USC Chirio Forno d’Asolo team in 2005 with three stages in the Giro Donne and two in the Giro del Trentino her long list of victories that year.

The team will be racing in North America and Europe.

Three more. One American and two Canadians are on the rosters of other UCI registered teams. American Liz Hatch on the Lotto Honda team registered in Belgium. Canadians Julie Beverige and Karol-Ann Canuel, at Vienne Futuroscope registered in France. There are no American or Canadian riders on the Garmin-Cervelo women’s team registered in Great-Britain.


Comments are closed.