Canada Names Team For Cross Worlds

Posted on 12. Jan, 2011 by in news, releases

The Canadian Cycling Association (CCA) announced today the six cyclists who will be representing Canada at the 2011 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships, held January 29-30, 2011 in St. Wendel, Germany. (See USA Names Elite Women, U23 & Junior For Cross Worlds)

Natasha Elliott (Garneau-Club Chaussures) at USGP Louisville

Natasha Elliott (Garneau-Club Chaussures) at USGP Louisville

Canada’s team at the UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships has two riders with previous participation at the event. Both Derrick St-John and Natasha Elliott, engaged to each other, have participated at the 2009 UCI World Championships held in Hoogerheide, Netherlands. St-John finished 54th in the men’s elite race, while Elliott finished 21st in the women’s elite race.

The cycling couple is optimistic about their performances at the event: “We are excited to be able to race the World Championships in Germany. We think it will definitely be a challenging course regardless of the weather conditions.”

These Championships will be the first experience for Craig Richey who is entered in the Men’s Elite category. “From the video I have seen, the course is very hilly and looks like it will suit my strengths. It should be a good one for me,” said Richey, who is currently ranked 83rd in the UCI World Cup standings.

In the Men’s junior racing, Canada will have three riders expected to take the start: Benjamin Perry, Karl Hoppner and Yohan Patry. None of the junior riders have previously participated at UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships.

The first Cyclo-cross World Championships were held in 1950.

Belgium has a strong cyclo-cross program, currently with six riders in the Top 8 of the 2011 UCI World Cup rankings. Canada’s top ranked rider in the World Cup standings is Mike Garrigan in 70th place. Garrigan will not participate at the World championships in Germany.

Canadian Delegation – 2011 UCI Cyclocross World Championships

Elite Women

  • Natasha Elliott (St. Andrews, ON)

Elite Men

  • Derrick St. John (St. Andrews, ON)
  • Craig Richey (Smithers, BC)

Junior Men

  • Benjamin Perry (St. Catharines, ON)
  • Karl Hoppner (Carp, ON)
  • Yohan Patry (St-Jérome, QC)

Support Staff

  • Matthew Knight (Ottawa, ON) – Team Manager
  • Alex Sanna (Waterloo, ON) – Soigneur and Mechanic

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Canada Names Team For Cross Worlds”

  1. Joe McNamara

    12. Jan, 2011

    St. Andrews Ontario representing. Good luck to all the riders. I’ll be watching.