Charm City: Second Verse Same As The First?

Posted on 21. Sep, 2010 by in race

Sunny skies, dry, fast racing and a technical parcours greeted 1200 Champion System MAC racers for the Charm City Cross Weekend held at historic Druid Hill Park in the heart of Baltimore, Maryland. The park, one of the oldest in America, is celebrating its 150th anniversary this year, and the Charm City Cross weekend has become one of its largest annual events. On the track, Charm City Cross winners from day one, Laura Van Gilder, of the promoting team C3-Athletes Serving Athletes, and Davide Frattini (Hudz-Suburu) looked to repeat their results.

Unlike Saturday, where Van Gilder traded jabs with Team CF’s Kristen Gavin for the bulk of UCI Women’s race before gaining the victory, Van Gilder launched from the starting blocks like a woman on a mission. She opened a small gap and continued to leverage it to close off a comfortable win. The battle of the day was for the second spot on the podium as Gavin outlasted Van Gilder’s C3 – Athletes Serving Athletes teammate Arley Kemmerer, who finished 3rd.

The UCI Men’s race was a very similar story as Davide Frattini (Hudz-Suburu) didn’t want allow the young guns from Cyfac-Champion System in Valentin Scherz and Anthony Grand to hang around too long. Separating himself from the duo, Frattini rode dominantly to claim his second victory in as many days. The Cyfac Champion system teammates worked together holding off the remainder of the field as Scherz took 2nd and Grand took 3rd.

Davide Frattini (Hudz-Suburu)  takes his second win - photo c

Davide Frattini (Hudz-Suburu) takes his second win - photo c

Next week, the Champion System MAC Series travels to another historic venue in Bryn Athyn Pennsylvania, just outside of Philadelphia, for the WhirlyBird ‘Cross. With only one result dropped in the overall standings this year and call-ups determined by series points, every race is crucial for riders chasing championship dreams.

Top 10 Elite Women Results (Complete Results)
1. Laura Van Gilder (C3 – Athletes Serving Athletes)
2. Kristin Gavin (Team CF)
3. Arley Kemmerer (C3 – Athletes Serving Athletes)
4. Deidre Winfield (C3 – Athletes Serving Athletes)
5. nikki thiemann (Team CF)
6. katrina dowidchuk (Team TBB/Deep Blue)
7. Erin Silliman (Fruit66/Artemis)
8. Lenore Pipes (The Wistar Institute)
9. Jennifer Maxwell (Van Dessel Factory Team p/b Sterke Meiden)
10. Erica Yozell (

Top 10 Elite Men Results (Complete Results)
1. Davide Frattini (Team Hudz/Subaru)
2. Valentin Scherz (Cyfac-Champion System Racing Team p/b Revolution)
3. Anthony Grand (Cyfac-Champion System Racing Team p/b Revolution)
4. Bryan Fawley (Park Place Dealerships)
5. Travis Livermon (Mock Orange Racing)
6. Ryan Knapp (
7. Jared Nieters (Haymarket / SEAVS)
8. Scott Frederick (Inland Construction)
9. Mike Sherer (The Pony Shop)
10. Alec Donahue (Wheelhouse / NCC)

Photo Gallery (Click for larger images)


Picture 10 of 12

Tags: , , , ,

Comments are closed.