Stacked Field For CrossVegas

Posted on 30. Aug, 2010 by in news, releases

CrossVegas organizer Brook Watts sounded like a Las Vegas odds maker as he described the field that he has managed to bring together for the September 22nd race.

“The winners of the CrossVegas titles are going to come from the best field ever assembled in America. Whether you break it out by national champions attending where we’ve got 8 nations covered. Or if you look at the international rankings we’ve got 3 of the top 10 riders in both the Elite Men and Elite Women categories. If you look at it from another level you’ve got the returning champions from the previous editions of CrossVegas. And then to really top it off you’ve got a dozen “wild card” contenders and any one of those riders could draw an ace on race day!”

CrossVegas 2009 winners: Jamey Driscoll (Cannondale Cyclocrossworld) and Katie Compton (Planet Bike)

CrossVegas 2009 winners: Jamey Driscoll (Cannondale Cyclocrossworld) and Katie Compton (Planet Bike)

Talk about a great problem to have as a race organizer. For the first time in America a gathering of national champions from 8 nations that includes  Tim Johnson (Cannondale – of the USA, Geoff Kabush (Team Maxxis-Rocky Mountain) of Canada, Marco Fontana (Cannondale Factory Racing)  of Italy, Francis Mouray (Francaise des Jeux) of France, Geert Wellens (Champion System) of Belgium (Elite Category), Joachim Parbo (KCH Leopard Cycles) of Denmark and Zoltan Tisza (Tecnofilm Bentonexpressz 2000) of Hungary.  And Katie Compton (Planet Bike) of USA and Katerina Nash (Team LUNA Chix) of the Czech Republic for the Elite Women.

In addition to the national champions the Elite Men’s field will be stacked with riders from the top 20 U.C.I. ranking. Riders like 5th ranked Gerben De Knegt of Holland (Rabobank Continental Team),  Mouray at 7th, Christian Heule of Switzerland (Rendementhypo Cycling Team) ranked 9th and American Jonathan Page (Planet Bike) ranked 18th. Joining 5th place Compton and 7th place Compton in the Elite Women’s field will be 16th place Amy Dombroski of the U.S. (Team LUNA Chix).

Returning are 2009 CrossVegas champions Jamey Driscoll of the U.S. (Cannondale – and  Compton who also won in 2008. Ryan Trebon (KONA), winner of CrossVegas 2007 and 2008 will be returning. Trebon and Compton are CrossVegas’ only 2-time winners.

Stressing that this preliminary list was sure to grow as the countdown to September 22nd proceeds Watts said “Don’t under estimate the other great riders who will be coming to CrossVegas” and began listing Americans Jeremy Powers (Cannondale –, Adam Craig (Rabobank-Giant). Georgia Gould (Team LUNA Chix) and Meredith Miller (Cal Giant-Specialized). Tim Van Nuffel of Belgium (Vangoethem-Prorace), Martin Grujan of Switzerland (Cannondale Factory Racing), CrossVegas 2009 Silver medalist Chris Jones (Rapha-FOCUS) and Davide Frattini from Italy (HUDZ- Subaru). “I’ve probably missed a half a dozen top guys and gals that are capable of turning CrossVegas upside down.”

Watts concluded by saying, “CrossVegas is fortunate to have an abundance of talented riders who want to start their season in front of the largest crowd in American cross racing. The real winners are sure to be the spectators.”

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.