Amaran On Track To Win NRC

Posted on 27. Aug, 2010 by in news, race, releases

It’s nearly official: Luis Amaran of the Jamis/Sutter Home Men’s Cycling Team presented by Colavita is set to finish the 2010 road racing season as the USA Cycling National Racing Calendar (NRC) champion.

While the NRC season officially concludes with the 27th annual Chris Thater Memorial on Sunday, August 29, Amaran holds such a wide lead in the points tally that no rider is likely to overtake him for the #1 ranking.

Luis Amaran (Jamis/Sutter Home)

Luis Amaran (Jamis/Sutter Home)

Amaran made his debut on the North American pro circuit in 2008, hand-picked by Directeur Sportif Sebastian Alexandre. A native of Cuba, Amaran had distinguished himself as a member of the Cuban National Team and raced for several years in Spain where he finished second overall at the Vuelta Avila in 2007. The following year, he accepted Alexandre’s invitation to join the Colavita/Sutter Home Men’s Team presented by Cooking Light, the predecessor to the Jamis/Sutter Home squad.

“We always thought of Luis as our secret weapon,” said Alexandre. “With his strength and power, we knew from day one that he could win both single-day and stage races.”

Last year, the depth of Amaran’s talents was already on full display. Racing alongside sprinters Alejandro Borrajo and Sebastian Haedo, Amaran finished in the top 10 at major stage races and 10th overall in the NRC individual standings.

In 2010, Amaran captured his first overall NRC victory at the Joe Martin Stage Race. Other highlights of Amaran’s 2010 season include winning the stage two road race at the SRAM Tour of the Gila ahead of three-time Amgen Tour of California champion Levi Leipheimer. In addition, Amaran made eight podium appearances and finished in the top 10 of seven major stage races.

“I am lucky to have found a team that’s committed to working together,” said Amaran. “It’s been a long season and I am grateful to all of my teammates for their support in race and after race.”

Amaran will not be on the roster for the Chris Thater Memorial. The criterium squad of Andy Guptill, Jamey Driscoll, Guido Palma, Ignacio Pereyra, and Jackie Simes will race to secure Jamis/Sutter Home’s ranking in the overall team standings.

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.