the week that was

Posted on 23. Jul, 2010 by in news

News for the week ending July 23: Canada and South Africa name teams for 2010 Commonwealth Games. Canada and USA squad for Junior Road Worlds and Junior Track Worlds. Jesse Sergent to Radioshack as stagiaire.

Zach Bell  shows how to do a track stand while at KBS training camp

Zach Bell shows how to do a track stand while at KBS training camp

Commonwealth Games. Representing Canada at the XIXth Commonwealth Games in Delhi, India this October 3-14 will be Michael Barry (HTC-Columbia), Svein Tuft (Garmin-Transitions), Ryan Roth (SpiderTech p/b Planet Energy), Will Routley (Jelly Belly p/b Kenda), Zach Bell (Kelly Benefit), Travis Smith, Erinne Willock and Joëlle Numainville (both of Webcor Builders), Tara Whitten, Alison Testroete (Team VBF), Julie Beveridge (Vienne-Futuroscope), Monique Sullivan and Leah Kirchmann (Trek Red Truck racing).

Tuft, Roth, Bell, Numainville, Whitten and Beveridge will race both the time trial and road race events while Barry, Routley, Willock, Testroete and Kirchmann will focus on the road race only. Bell will also participate in points and scratch races on the track, and Whitten adds the individual pursuit, points, scratch, team sprint track events to her list. Smith and Sullivan will focus on track events.

“With a team comprised of Olympians, a Tour de France rider, World Cup and World Championships medalists and Canadian champions, the hopes for the Canadian cycling team at the Commonwealth Games in Delhi are high,” says Jacques Landry, Chief Technical Officer of the Canadian Cycling Association. “The once-in-a-lifetime experience will have a lasting impression on our riders, especially as we set our sights on the Olympic Games in London in 2012.”

The selection of the Road team was prioritized based on the highest finish at the 2009 UCI Road World Championships, the 2010 Road Canadian Cycling Championships, gold medalist at the 2010 Pan American Road and Time Trial Championships, highest number of UCI points in road (women), and the best U23 finisher in the road race event at the 2010 Road Canadian Cycling Championships.

South Africa also announced its roster for the games, which includes Carla Swart (Team VBF), Robert Hunter (Garmin-Transitions), Daryl Impey (Radioshack), Darren Lill and Jay Thompson (both of Fly V Australia). Also on the SA cycling squad are Robyn de Groot, Ashleigh Moolman, Anriette Schoeman, Cherise Taylor, Marissa van der Merwe, Dean Edwards, Christoff van Heerden and Jaco Venter.

Delhi 2010 will feature 14 track events, (eight for men and six for women) and two road events (Mass Start and time Trial events) for Men & Women. Track events will be held from October 5-8 2010. The men’s 167 km Road Race and women’s 100 km Road Race will be held at Vijay Chowk on October 10 while men’s 40 km Individual Time Trial and women’s 29 km Individual Time Trial will be on October 13 at Noida Express Highway.

While we’re on the subject of National teams, both the CCA and USA Cycling released its roster for Junior Road and Track Worlds. The 2010 UCI Junior Road and Track World Championships will take place in Offida and Montichiari, Italy, August 5-15.

Coryn Rivera (Peanut Butter Co TWENTY12) will represent the USA at both Junior Road Worlds and Track Worlds

Coryn Rivera (Peanut Butter Co TWENTY12) will represent the USA at both Junior Road Worlds and Track Worlds

Representing Canada in the road events will be Canadian Junior  Time Trial Champion Julia Garnet, Canadian Junior Road Champion Véronique Drapeau-Zgoralski, Annie Ewart and Laura Bietola for the women and Canadian Junior  Time Trial Champion Stuart Wight, Canadian Junior Road Champion Ryan MacDonald, Kris Dahl, Craig Logan, Jean-Samuel Deshaies and Frédéric Poisson for the men. Allison Beveridge, Florence Laplante-Lamarche, Alex Cataford and Scott Mulder will focus on the track events.

Representing the U.S.A. in the road events will be reigning junior world time trial silver medalist Lawson Craddock (Hot Tubes), Eamon Lucas (Specialized) for both road race and time trial and Ryan Eastman and Nathaniel Geoffrion (both of All Sport-Team Swift), Anders Newbury (Hot Tubes) and Paul Lynch (CL Noonan-Bay Hill Capital-Corner Cycle) for the road race. For the junior women, Coryn Rivera (Peanut Butter & Co TWENTY12) and Jessica Prinner (ABD Cycle Club) will do both the road race and time trial and Kendall Ryan (VRC-NOW-MS Society) and Kaitlin Antonneau (Team Kenda) will participate in the road race.

The team for the junior men’s track events is Matthew Baranoski (Team Alliance Environmental), Juan Carmona (Young Medalists), Robin Carpenter, Wesley Kline, Jesse Marans (Major Motion Cycling Club), Zack Noonan, Benjamin Swedberg (Rad Racing), John Tomlinson (XXX Racing) and Craddock. The junior women’s team for the track is Christine Barron (VRC), Shelbe Eck, Madalyn Godby, Ruth Winder (Peanut Butter & Co TWENTY12) and the most decorated junior cyclist in American history, Rivera.

Jesse Sergent (Trek-Livestrong) flies to win SRAM Tour of the Gila TT

Jesse Sergent (Trek-Livestrong) flies to win SRAM Tour of the Gila TT

Sergent to Radioshack as stagiaire. Both cyclingnews and velonews reported that Kiwi Jesse Sergent (Trek-Livestrong) will be joining Radioshack as stagiaire starting August 1.  Sergent will join his teammate Taylor Phinney previously announced as a stagiaire with the same team. Sergent turned heads earlier this year when he won the SRAM Tour of the Gila time trial. (See his palmares)

As per UCI rule 2.15.110 bis, a UCI ProTour can add three elite or under 23 riders to the team between August 1 and the end of the year – as long as certain conditions are met, such as, the rider must not have ridden for a ProTour or Pro Continental team in the past and the UCI is informed before August 1. The rider is limited to races of the UCI continental circuits.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.