Day, Willock Fastest In Cascade TT

Posted on 22. Jul, 2010 by in race

Australian Ben Day (Fly V Australia) and Canadian Erinne Willock (Webcor) clocked the fastest time in the Skyliners Time Trial p/b Hutch’s Bicycles, stage 2 of the Cascade Cycling Classic.

With an average speed of 30.51 mph (49.09 kmph) on the 16 miles (25.8 km) out and back course, Day stopped the clock at 31:28, 15 seconds faster than prologue winner Jesse Sergent (Trek-Livestrong). GC leader Rory Sutherland (UnitedHealthcare) finished 3rd at 27 seconds slower and remains in the lead.

Day moved up to second on GC, 16 seconds behind Sutherland. Day’s teammate Darren Lill sits in 3rd at 57 seconds down. Tim Roe (Trek-Livestrong) finished 8th on the stage and sits in 10th spot on GC at 1:59 and takes over the Best Young Rider classification from his teammate.

Willock set a time of 35:56 over the same distance with an average speed of 26.72 mph (42.99 kmph). Mara Abbott (Peanut Butter Co TWENTY12) was 9 seconds slower and Alison Powers (Team VBF) came in third at 44 seconds down. Leader into the stage Cath Cheatley finished 8th at 1:48 down. Willock’s time was almost 6 minutes faster that her time last year on the same course.

Abbott moves into the GC lead with a 1:13 lead on Cheatley. Willock jumped up to 3rd on GC at 1:59 down. Rushlee Buchanan (Colavita/Baci) still leads the Best Young Rider classification.

The race continues on Friday with the Cascade Lakes Road Race p/b Pacific Power. For the men, the 83-mile (133 km) stage starts off with a 10-mile climb and finishes with a 15-mile climb, with a false flat in the middle to the final steep kicker up to Mt Bachelor topping off at nearly 6,400 feet (1950 m). The women start a bit later in the route but still face the final climb to Mt Bachelor in their 72 miles (115.9 km) stage. (See cheat sheet)

Top 10 Women Stage 2 Results (Complete Results)
1. Erinne Willock (Webcor Builders) 0:35:56.588
2. Mara Abbott (Peanut Butter & Co.TWENTY12) +0:00:09
3. Alison Powers (Team Vera Bradley Foundation) +0:00:44
4. Anne Samplonius (Team Vera Bradley Foundation) +0:01:16
5. Alison K Shanks (Bike NZ) +0:01:27
6. Megan Guarnier (Team TIBCO) +0:01:44
7. Amber Rais (Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling) +0:01:47
8. Cath Cheatley (Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling) +0:01:48
9. Rushlee Buchanan* (Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling) +0:01:55
10. Tara Whitten (Keller Rorhback Cycling Team) +0:02:03

Top 10 Women GC After Stage 2 (Complete Results)
1. Mara Abbott (Peanut Butter & Co.TWENTY12) 4:07:17
2. Cath Cheatley (Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling) +0:01:13
3. Erinne Willock (Webcor Builders) +0:01:59
4. Alison Powers (Team Vera Bradley Foundation) +0:03:15
5. Rushlee Buchanan* (Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling) +0:03:45
6. Amber Rais (Colavita/Baci Pro Cycling) +0:04:30
7. Meredith Miller (Team TIBCO) +0:04:51
8. Tara Whitten (Keller Rorhback Cycling Team) +0:05:47
9. Katheryn Mattis (Webcor Builders) +0:05:59
10. Emily Kachorek (Touchstone Climbing) +0:06:08

Top 10 Men Stage 2 Results (Complete Results)
1. Ben Day (Fly V Australia) 0:31:28.405
2. Jesse H Sergent* (Trek-LIVESTRONG) +0:00:15
3. Rory Sutherland (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) +0:00:27
4 53 Ben Jacques-Maynes (BISSELL Pro Cycling) +0:00:29
5 56 Jeremy Vennell (BISSELL Pro Cycling) +0:00:39
6 13 Darren Rolfe (Fly V Australia) +0:00:58
7 32 Alex Dowsett* (Trek-LIVESTRONG) +0:01:00
8 12 Darren Lill (Fly V Australia) +0:01:11
9 31 Nathan D Brown* (Trek-LIVESTRONG) +0:01:20
10 36 Timothy R Roe* (Trek-LIVESTRONG) +0:01:22

Top 10 Men GC After Stage 2 (Complete Results)
1. Rory Sutherland (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) 3:34:17
2. Ben Day (Fly V Australia) +0:00:16
3. Darren Lill (Fly V Australia) +0:00:57
4 2 Marc De Maar (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling) +0:01:07
5 56 Jeremy Vennell (BISSELL Pro Cycling) +0:01:23
6 159 Cesar Grajales (Cole Sport p/b High West) +0:01:27
7 51 Robert Britton (BISSELL Pro Cycling) +3:35:55 0:01:38
8 36 Timothy R Roe* (Trek-LIVESTRONG) +0:01:38
9 10 Jai Crawford (Fly V Australia) +0:01:53
10 30 Benjamin T. King* (Trek-LIVESTRONG) +0:01:59


Comments are closed.