the week that was

Posted on 09. Jul, 2010 by in news

More bad news on the race front. On the heels of the non-start of the Tour de New York, a race on the UCI calendar for two years now but never held, another race announces changes due to economic difficulties. As reported by WFMZ-TV, the opening leg of the Univest Grand Prix, the Allentown time trial, has been canceled because of a lack of funding. The event returns to a 2-race format with the Univest Grand Prix on Saturday, September 11 in Souderton and surrounding communities and the Univest Criterium of Doylestown, PA on Sunday, September 12.

And then there is the Tour de Toona. Originally planned to be a 7-day stage race, it is now reduced to a one-day criterium on Sunday August 29 in Altoona, PA. reverting to the original race course from the Tour de Toona’s inception in 1986, the race is a highly technical 1-mile course with 6 turns and a gradual uphill finish. It’s been a tough two years for the race which was canceled last year when a major sponsor pulled out.

However scheduling the race at the same time as the NRC Chris Thater Memorial in Binghamton NY is not good for everyone, as it forces teams and riders to make a choice.

BMC Racing Team

BMC Racing Team

New talent for BMC Racing Team. Two new riders, Amaël Moinard and Greg Van Avermaet are joining the BMC Racing team next year according to media reports.

According to Reuters, Moinard’s team since he turned pro in 2005, Cofidis has shared the news. The 28-year old Frenchman finished 15th in his first Tour de France in 2008 and won the last stage of Paris-Nice earlier this year. The Gazet Van Antwerpen reports that Belgian Van Avermaet is re-enforcing the classics squad for BMC with a two-year contract. The 25-year old has been with Omega Pharma-Lotto since turning pro in 2007.

CalGiant cross team. Continuing its 10-year history of sponsoring a cycling team, the California Giant Berry Farms announced the California Giant/Specialized Announces 2010 Cyclocross Team Roster earlier this week.

Jesse Anthony is joining CalGiant for the 2010/11 cross season

Jesse Anthony is joining CalGiant for the 2010/11 cross season

The team had a very strong 2009 season that saw Cody Kaiser become US National Junior Champion and Meredith Miller the US Silver medalist and a top placing Elite Woman at UCI Cyclocross Championship, and place 12th at Worlds. The 2010 squad has a few new faces including Jesse Anthony and Teal Stetson-Lee complimenting the successful returning squad including Cody Kaiser now competing in the U23 Elite men category. Stetson-Lee joins the team as the Women’s Collegiate National Champion; in addition to  Anthony, a seven-time national champion.

The 2010 team will compete in USGP and select UCI races in both the United States and Europe. Throughout the upcoming Cross season team members will also be selected to compete in regional events in California, Washington, Colorado and the New England area.

The complete roster is: Jesse Anthony, Justin Robinson, Nick Weighall, Jeremy Ferguson, Cody Kaiser, Meredith Miller and Teal Stetson-Lee.

The team comes together in September in Watsonville California for a training camp and to finalize the race programs for the individual riders.

Canada’s long list for Worlds. The CCA announced the long-lost of Elite Women and U23 men nominated to the pool of athletes seeking to be selected to attend the 2010 UCI Road World Championships held in Melbourne, Australia, from September 29 to October 3, 2010

Elite Women: Tara Whitten (Specialized Mazda Samson G Conseil), Erinne Willock (Webcor Builders), Joëlle Numainville (Webcor Builders), Denise Ramsden (Team Kenda), Heather Logan-Sprenger (Team Ontario), Julie Beveridge (Equipe Vienne Futuroscope), Karol-Ann Canuel (Equipe Vienne Futuroscope) and Anne Samplonius (Team Vera Bradley Foundation)

U23 Men: Hugo Houle (Garneau-Club Chaussures-Ogilvy Renault), Arnaud Papillon (Nativo – PG), David Boily (SpiderTech p/b Planet Energy), Guillaume Boivin (SpiderTech p/b Planet Energy), Michael Joanisse (Nativo – PG), Cody Campbell (Trek-Livestrong U23), Jesse Reams (Cycling BC) and Jordan Cheyne (Mazur Coaching/Wheels of Bloor).

The team will be formally announced on September 6 for the Women’s selection, and September 14 for the Men’s selection. The number of selected riders will depend on the Event Competition guide, which has not been released to this day.

Seven of the nominated cyclists have prior UCI Road World Championships experience. David Boily, Guillaume Boivin, Tara Whitten, Erinne Willock, Joëlle Numainville, Heather Logan-Sprenger and Julie Beveridge all participated at the 2009 UCI Road World Championships in Mendrisio, Switzerland.

A ride down memory lane. A new facebook group was created, the 1980s Cycling Photography by Sam Emerson. The group is an archive of Sam Emerson’s cycling photography. Between the years of 1983 and 1987, he documented nearly every race in the Southern California and Nevada district. Includes photos from races such as Willows / UCSD 1986 (Juniors), Vegas Criterium – 1981, Rose Bowl – 1985 and lots more.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.