On Tap: San Rafael Twilight Crit, Tour de Delta, Iron Hill Twilight Crit, CapCrit

Posted on 09. Jul, 2010 by in race

While there is only one NRC race, the Grand Cycling Classic p/b Herman Miller, this weekend, there is still lots of racing all over North America. Let’s take a closer look at some of the races, the Tour de Delta, the Iron Hill Twilight Crit, the CapCrit and the San Rafael Twilight Crit.  The Point Premium Root Beer International Cycling Classic / SUPERWEEK Pro Tour also starts this weekend, stay tuned for a closer look at the lollapalooza of crit racing.

Ryan Anderson (Kelly Benefit Strategies) led the KOM competition for 2 days at the Amgen Tour of California

Ryan Anderson (Kelly Benefit Strategies) led the KOM competition for 2 days at the Amgen Tour of California

Tour de Delta. BC Superweek kicks off with the Tour de Delta in British Columbia on July 9 to 11 and ends with Tour de White Rock July 16 to 18 for 6 races in all. For the first time in its 10 years, four Canadian Criterium Champions will be crowned in the second race of the 3-race event.

The event kicks off with the MK Delta Prologue on July 9, raced on a quick three-km, 4-corner  course. It continues with the Canadian titles on the line at the Brenco Criterium, a multi-lap race through the streets and tight corners of Ladner’s fishing village on Saturday, July 10, and wraps up with the gruelling White Spot Road Race on Sunday, July 11.

Along with 6 teammates including Zach Bell and Fitchburg Longsjo overall winner David Veilleux, Ryan Anderson (Kelly Benefit) is back to defend his win against a very strong field.  Favorite going into the race is Svein Tuft (Garmin-Transitions) who singled-handedly lapped the field to solo to the win in the Yaletown Grand Prix last weekend. He’ll be able to count on one teammate Chris Meier for support. Riders to watch Andrew Pinfold (UnitedHealthcare p/b Maxxis), recently crowned Canadian Road Race champion Will Routley (Jelly Belly p/b Kenda) and Nic Hamilton (Trek Red Truck Racing Team).

USA Crits. This weekend marks a first in USA CRITS history; a back-to-back weekend promises to mix up the overall in the men’s and women’s overall. The Iron Hill Twilight Criterium in West Chester, PA and the CapCrit in Washington, D.C. are back for another round of USA CRITS action. Only the Iron Hill race counts for the women’s USA Crits competition.

The Capital Criteriump/b the Washington Convention and Sports Authority is back on the schedule in 2010 after a hiatus in 2009, and is in support of the campaign to bring the Giro d’Italia to Washington, D.C. in 2012.

Isaac Howe (Mountain Khakis f/b Jittery Joe’s) goes into the weekend leading the overall as well as the Best Young Rider competition. UnitedHealthcare’s Hilton Clarke is the Lap Leader after three events; however, he may be displaced after Iron Hill, a race notorious for breakaways. Watch for 2008 USA CRITS Overall Champion Yosvany Falcon (Bahati Foundation), fresh off a winning streak after placing on top of the podium at Tour of America’s Dairyland and Manhattan Beach, to be a major contender at both races.

Also racing this weekend is 2nd place Clayton Barrows and his AXA team, Atlanta, Georgia-based Aerocat with 3 riders currently sitting in the top 10 (and potential podium finisher, Juan Pablo Dotti), Kelly Benefit Strategies, and USA CRITS Division 1 teams – Richmond Pro Cycling, CRCA/Foundation, Jamis-Sutter Home p/b Colavita, Mountain Khakis f/b Jittery Joe’s, Haymarket Bicycles-HOMEVISIT, and Kenda Pro Cycling p/b GEARGRINDER.

USA CRITS racing returns for the women at Iron Hill. Treads.com/DFT’s Tiffany Pezzulo took the overall lead at the Giro d’ Grafton and will be looking to maintain the jersey. Team Type 1′s Jackie Crowell is heading the Lap Leader’s competition after her win at Grafton, while Kacey Manderfield (Cycle Loft) is in the Best Young Rider’s leader jersey.

Women start at 6:45pm on Saturday for the 4-corner Iron Hill followed by pro men at 7:45pm EST.  Pro men start at 1:15pm EST  for 105 minutes for the 7-corner CapCrit.

Racers and fans were treated to a rainbow at 2009 San Rafael Twilight Crit

Racers and fans were treated to a rainbow at 2009 San Rafael Twilight Crit

San Rafael Twilight Crit. Saturday brings the 12th edition of the San Rafael Twilight Crit in Northern California. Taking place on a four-corner 1-km course, the racing will be fast and furious as the riders juggle the corners under the fading sun in downtown San Rafael.

Defending champion Ken Hanson (Team Type 1) is back with two teammates Chris Jones and Shawn Milne to try and capture the crown once again. He’ll have to battle against 2007 winner Bernard Van Ulden (Jelly Belly p/b Kenda), four-time US National Champion Rahsaan Bahati (Bahati Foundation) and strong amateur squads California Giant with 2010 US Elite National Champion Steve Reaney, Williams Elite Cycling with 2008 San Francisco Twilight Criterium Daniel Ramsey and Yahoo! Cycling squad.

This year brings a small field in the women’s race. While defending champion Coryn Rivera (Peanut Butter Co TWENTY12) is busy racing and winning more titles at US Junior Track Nationals, the team is counting on Irish National Champion Olivia Dillon and Kat Carroll to bring back the win. Hoping to get on the top step are riders from Los Gatos Cycling, Dolce Vita Cycling, Third Pillar and more, including six-time Ironman Triathlon champion Tyler Stewart (Luna Chix). (See list of pre-registered riders)

The women race for 60 minutes starting at 6pm PST, the men at 8pm for 75 minutes. Follow @podium_live for updates during the race.

Tags: , , , , ,

Comments are closed.