Abbott Is New USA Road Champion

The final three Stars-and-Stripes of the 2010 USA Cycling Juniors, U23, Elite Road National Championships were awarded on Sunday as Mara Abbott (Peanut Butter & Co TWENTY12) used a late-race attack to grab her second elite women’s road race national title. Lawson Craddock (Hot Tubes) completed the sweep winning the junior men’s 17-18 road race after earning the time trial and criterium titles earlier in the week. Michael Olheiser (TriStar Cycling Team) won the elite men’s road race to cap off the week’s action in Bend.

Aerocat’s Dotti Wins Hyde Park Blast

Aerocat’s Juan Pablo Dotti avoided a late race crash to win the Hyde Park Blast Criterium ahead of Clayton Barrows (AXA equitable-CRCA) and Chris Uberti (Team Panther p/b competitive cyclist). Though he went down in the crash, Isaac Howe (Mt Khakis f/b Jittery Joe’s) still leads the USACrits Series.

Two for King, Hat Trick for Rivera at USA Road Nats

Saturday brought repeat winners at the USA Cycling Juniors, U23, Elite Road National Championships. Following his surprise win in the U23 Men Criterium yesterday, Benjamin King (Trek-Livestrong) made it two by soloing to win the U23 men’s road race. Hat trick for Coryn Rivera (Peanut Butter Co TWENTY12) who continued to dominate the junior 17-18…

Howe, Buerkle Win Madeira Centennial Crit

It wasn’t billed as a twilight race but the Madeira Centennial Criterium finished in almost complete darkness with Issac Howe (Mountain Khakis) appearing out of the night to take an impressive sprint victory! The nations crit riders have been split this weekend between the Tour of Americas Dairyland, Manhattan Beach Grand Prix and this Ohio…

Evans, King Claim USA Nats Crit Titles

Moving from its long-time home in Downers Grove, Ill. as a part of the USA Cycling Professional Criterium Championships, the elite women’s and men’s criterium contests highlighted the fourth day of competition at the USA Cycling Juniors, U23, Elite Road National Championships. Shelley Evans (Peanut Butter & Co TWENTY12) topped the powerful elite women’s field,…

Beveridge Wins 5th, Tuft 6th National TT Title

The first day of competition at the 2010 Canadian Road Cycling Championships saw Canada’s best road cyclists take-on the time trial course with force in Devon, Alberta, and the top riders didn’t disappoint as Julie Beveridge and Svein Tuft took home the ultimate Canadian Titles. Conditions for the women’s race were close to ideal, with…

Stevens, Talansky win National TT Titles

Evelyn Stevens (New York, N.Y. HTC/Columbia), Mike Olheiser (Huntsville, Ala./TriStar Cycling) and Andrew Talansky (Napa, Calif./Cal Giant Berry Farms) joined 13 others Thursday in slipping on the Stars-and-Stripes jersey after clocking the winning times in the elite and U23 time trials in Bend. In all sixteen national titles were awarded as riders in each category,…

Amaran, Powers Still Lead NRC

No changes to the top of the leaderboard after 13 of 24 events in the NRC. Luis Amaran and his Jamis/Sutter Home team still leads the men’s individual and team standings. Alison Powers and his Team Vera Bradle Foundation remain in the lead of the women’s individual and team standings.

King of the Hill Brad Huff

Meet the new King of the Hill, Brad Huff of Jelly Belly p/b Kenda. Yep sprinter Huff won the King of the Hill (KOH) competition at Nature Valley Grand Prix. While the climbs might not have been that long, he still had to contend with steep kickers and aggressive riding.

Northey Gets Most Aggressive

“A good accomplishment.” said Mike Northey of the Rubicon-ORBEA; Benefiting the Lance Armstrong Foundation team. “We walked away with something and Taylor was up there in the young rider and amateur as well, it’s good.” Northey was awarded the Most Aggressive jersey and his teammate Taylor Gunman, in his first race in the US, finished…