Marcotte, Vetterlein Win Melon City Crit

Posted on 31. May, 2010 by in race

The travelling bike circus that is the Memorial Day bike races moved on to Muscatine, IA for a challenging down then up crit. The unique feature of the Melon City Crit is a speed-bump taken at the antapex of the course at approximately 40mph! This allows the riders a little fun before commencing the climb back to the finish line. Forty miles in 100F made for a difficult day in the office for the best riders the Midwest has to offer.

Marcotte takes the solo V! - photo c Caitlin Coar

Marcotte takes the solo V! - photo c Caitlin Coar

Following the usual early aggressions a powerful group rolled off the front after 12laps and somewhat surprisingly was never seen by the peloton again. Texas Roadhouse had two representatives in the break – Adam Bergman and Jeff Schroetlin – whilst Eric Marcotte (Team Pista Palace), Chad Burdzilauskas (Kenda p/b Geargrinder), Brian Jensen (Tailwind Sports) and Ryan Freund (Verizon Wireless) made up the remainder. Although the group was rolling well they never gained more than 45seconds on the bunch but without a cohesive chase it never could quite come all back together.

In the latter stages of the race the best efforts came from Paul Martin (Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist) who came agonizingly close to bridging the gap before running out of gas and dropping back to a chasing duo with Nick Frey (Jamis Sutter Home p/b Colavita). The truce of the front sextet was broken in the final couple laps when first Freund and Schroetlin and then Jensen and Marcotte pried themselves small advantages. Ultimately Marcotte put in the big attack final time up the hill to claim a solo victory ahead of Burdzilauskas and Bergman. Frey and Martin stayed clear of the 70 man peloton who were led home by Andy Crater (Aerocat) and Ryan Knapp (Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist). Marcotte has had great success at these Memorial day races in years past and during the podium announcements did confirm that he had tapered his training in recent weeks so as to be on top form. The plan appears to be working out just fine!

Vettlein celebrates with the funky chicken - photo c Harry Clark

Vettlein celebrates with the funky chicken - photo c Harry Clark

In the Women’s race, Lisa Vetterlein (Punk Rock Cycling) profited from Amanda Miller (TIBCO/To The Top)’s absence to dominant the race. She was the strongest rider in an early break of five that featured amongst others, Briana Kovac (Alderfer Bergen). Just before it got sucked back into the group she took off solo and was never seriously troubled. The onus was on the highly represented Team Kenda Tire to pull back the solo leader but they weren’t up to the task. Vetterlein has plenty of time to cross the line performing the chicken-wing celebration before Kaitlin Antonneau (Team Kenda) and Christine Roettger (Mesa Cycles) led home the peloton.

Report by Geraint Parry,

Photo Gallery (Click for larger images)
Men’s photos c Caitlin Coar, Women’s photos c Harry Clark – All used with permission

Top 10 Men’s Results (Complete Results)
1. Eric Marcotte (Team Pista Palace)
2. Chad Burdzilauskas (Kenda p/b Geargrinder)
3. Adam Bergman (Texas Roadhouse)
4. Brian Jensen (Tradewind Sports/ Trek Stores)
5. Ryan Freund (Verizon Wireless)
6. Jeff Schroetlin (Texas Roadhouse)
7. Nick Frey (Jamis Sutter Home p/b Colavita)
8. Paul Martin (Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist)
9. Andy Crater (Aerocat)
10. Ryan Knapp (Panther p/b Competitive Cyclist)

Top 10 Women’s Results (Complete Results)
1. Lisa Vetterlein (Punk Rock Cycling)
2. Kaitlin Anoeateau (Kenda Tire)
3. Chris Rotteger (Mesa Cycles)
4. Briana Kovac (Alderfer Bergen)
5. Jessica Prinner (ABD Cycling)
6. Patricia Black (Morgan Stanley)
7. Jacqueline Kurth (Kenda)
8. Kristin Wentworth (Kenda)
9. Bianca Bergman (Texas Roadhouse)
10. Emma Bast (Unattached)

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.