Women Selected to 2010 Fiber One Collegiate All-Stars Roster

Posted on 25. May, 2010 by in news, releases

USA Cycling and the organizers of the Nature Valley Grand Prix announced today the selection of the fourth annual Fiber One Collegiate Women’s All-Stars team. The All-Stars include six female collegiate riders chosen to compete against professional cycling teams in the Nature Valley Grand Prix, June 16-20.

The team was selected at the 2010 USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships, held May 7-9, in Madison, Wis. Selection of this year’s team was based on the final overall standings (omnium). Riders on the Fiber One Collegiate All-Stars Team represent different collegiate teams who are not members of a professional or elite amateur team already registered to attend the Nature Valley Grand Prix.

The 2010 Fiber One Collegiate All-Stars include:

  • Jennifer Purcell - Midwestern State University
  • Elle Anderson – Dartmouth College
  • Rita Klofta – DePauw University
  • Flora Duffy – University of Colorado-Boulder
  • Leia Tyrrell – Oregon State University
  • Kimberley Turner – Seattle Pacific University

Seattle Pacific’s Kimberley Turner said it was her goal to place well enough at collegiate nationals to earn a spot on the Fiber One Collegiate All Star Team.

“As a full-time student, it’s definitely hard to balance academics and training,” Turner said, “but it’s amazing to see all the hard work paying off. I am so excited to have the opportunity to race with some of the top women in North America.”

Leia Tyrrell of Oregon State University said an article about the Fiber One Composite Team piqued her interest.

“It is such an amazing opportunity for a student, who may not otherwise have the resources to go to such a big race,” Tyrrell said. “I am ecstatic that I got a spot on the team.”

“We’re always on the lookout for rising stars,” said Team TIBCO/To the Top Director Linda Jackson. “We pay particular attention to the Fiber One Collegiate All Stars team at the Nature Valley Grand Prix. Devon Haskell and Amanda Miller came to my team from that program, but virtually every team in the women’s peloton includes alumni from the Fiber One Collegiate All Stars.”

Several alumni of the Collegiate All Star Team are racing for professional cycling teams, including: Erica Allar (Penn State) & Carla Swart (Lees-McRae College), Team Vera Bradley; Devon Haskell (University of Chicago) & Amanda Miller (Colorado State), Team TIBCO/To the Top and Kristin McGrath (Fort Lewis College) & Sinead Miller (Marian College), Peanut Butter & Co TWENTY12.

Along with the honor of selection to the team, each all-star cyclist receives free entry into the 2010 Nature Valley Grand Prix plus host housing, a support staff comprised of a team manager, mechanic and soigneur, an operating budget, clothing and a travel stipend.

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.