Fly V Australia take over men’s NRC lead

Posted on 20. Apr, 2010 by in news, race

The Fly V Australia continued their winning ways last weekend, making it three out of three events in the NRC for the Australia Continental team. First it was Ben Day winning the overall at Redlands Bicycle Classic followed by Jonathan Cantwell taking the chaotic Dana Point Grand Prix, and now it’s Ben Kersten.

The Sunny King Criterium has donated over $65,000 in entry fees to Relay for Life, an American Cancer Society fundraiser, since 2005.  Photo c Brandon Andrews/

The Sunny King Criterium has donated over $65,000 in entry fees to Relay for Life, an American Cancer Society fundraiser, since 2005. Photo c Brandon Andrews/

Last Saturday, at the Sunny King Criterium Kersten (Fly V Australia) outkicked a small group who had lapped the field on the fast, four-corner course. Another Australian Hilton Clarke (Bahati Foundation) finished second and Alessandro Bazzana (Fly V Australia) third.

Racing under lights in Anniston Alabama the race got off to a cracking start and by halfway a group of 20 had lapped the main bunch.  The racing was aggressive with the major teams well represented in the break that lapped the field.

In the final laps there were many attempts to try and prevent a sprint finish. “Once we took the lap, I was motivated for a sprint finish and Baz and I worked well together to ensure we arrived with the group. In a testament to how well Baz is riding right now was that not only did he lead me out perfectly but he also held on to finish third.” said Kersten.

Nicky Wangsgard (Roosters p/b Edge Composite) won the pro women’s race in a three-rider break. Carla Swart (Team VBF) finished second and Jackie Crowell (Team Type 1) third.

Following the third NRC event the individual leaders remain largely unchanged as Day  and Germany’s Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (HTC-Columbia) hold on to early season leads. However, after earning first and third-place finishes at Sunny King, Fly V Australia took over the top spot in the men’s team standings while HTC-Columbia held on to its lead in the women’s team standings with Team VBF closing the gap in second place.

After 3 event in the men’s calendar completed, the top 5 are:
Men’s Individual Standings

  1. Benjamin Day (Fly V Australia) – 298
  2. Ben Jacques-Maynes (Bissell Pro Cycling) – 185
  3. Will Routley (Jelly Belly p/b Kenda)- 162
  4. Kiel Reijnen (Jelly Belly p/b Kenda) – 136
  5. Luis Amaran (Jamis-Sutter Home p/b Colavita)
Men’s Team Standings

  1. Fly V Australia – 518
  2. Jelly Belly p/b Kenda – 448
  3. Bissell Pro Cycling – 383
  4. Jamis Sutter Home/Colavita – 326
  5. UnitedHealthCare p/b Maxxis – 305
After 2 events in the women’s NRC, the top 5 are:
Women’s Individual Standings

  1. Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (HTC-Columbia) – 304
  2. Amber Neben (Dare to Be-BMW-Bianchi) – 175
  3. Katharine Carroll (Peanut Butter & Co Twenty12) – 165
  4. Evelyn Stevens (HTC Columbia) – 155
  5. Alexis Rhodes (Team Vera Bradley Foundation) – 132
Women’s Team Standings

  1. HTC Columbia – 488
  2. Team Vera Bradley Foundation – 404
  3. Peanut Butter & Co. Twenty12 – 304
  4. Tibco/To The Top Pro Cycling – 274
  5. Dare to be-BMW-Bianchi – 175

Next race on the NRC for both men and women is the SRAM Tour of the Gila in Silver City, N.M. on April 28- May 2.

See complete standings for men individual, women individual, men team and women team.

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.