Hagens Berman Takes Aim at 2010

Posted on 24. Mar, 2010 by in race, releases

The Hagens Berman Cycling Team is looking forward to the start of the Redlands Cycling Classic which begins tomorrow. Riding a wave of success after 2009, which included launching Adrian Hegyvary into the pro ranks with the United Healthcare Pro Cycling Team, the team is ready to continue its mission of bringing the top amateur talent of the Northwest to the national stage. Hagens Berman is a professional development cycling team, run under the umbrella of Lake Washington Velo, a not-for-profit organization established in 1997 with the goal of helping develop the sport of competitive cycling in the United States and specifically the Pacific Northwest.

Over the years, LWV has provided dozens of riders the experience and opportunity they needed to make that jump to the professional ranks. The former title sponsor, Broadmark Capitol, helped build the team and its reputation for finding the stars of tomorrow. Former alumni include Tyler Farrar, Svein Tuft, Tom Peterson, Doug Ollerenshaw, Morgan Schmitt, Kiel Reijnen, Evan Elkan, and many more.

Hagens Berman Sobol Shapiro LLP, the team’s title sponsor since 2007, is a Seattle-based law firm committed to protecting the rights of consumers, investors, workers and the environment. This year, Hagens Berman has been joined by a full compliment of top quality supporting sponsors, including Hammer Nutrition, Wippermann, Vittoria, Smith, Northwave, Lazer, Exustar, Squadra, DeFeet, Showers Pass, CycleOps, and Sonadei. The team is also partnering with Dr. Steve Noble of Noble Chiropractic and Herriott Sports Performance. Blue Competition Cycles will outfit the team with their new AC1 SL bicycles complete with Shimano parts, and Cole Wheels is providing a full quiver of their best racing hoops.

Guiding the team for a second year as director is Joe Holmes, the former director for the LeMond Fitness/Captain Cra-Z Soap Professional Cycling Team. Holmes combines a lifetime of cycling experience, with an unflinching commitment to the team and its goals.

The nine-man roster includes several returning members: Sam Johnson, Nick Clayville, Lang Reynolds, and Chris Daifuku. Joining the team will be Kennett Peterson, Sean Passage, Spencer Smitheman, and 2009 Division 2 Collegiate Criterium National Champ Phil Elsasser. Lastly, joining the team as mentor and on-the-road captain will be Danish rider Soren Petersen, a former member of the Saturn Pro Cycling Team.


  • Nick Clayville
  • Chris Daifuku
  • Phil Elsasser
  • Sam Johnson
  • Sean Passage
  • Soren Petersen
  • Kennett Peterson
  • Lang Reynolds
  • Spencer Smitheman

Tags: ,


  1. uberVU - social comments - March 24, 2010

    Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by podiuminsight: Hagens Berman Takes Aim at 2010 http://bit.ly/aDjgNx