Elite Women, U23 and JR Men named for US Cross Worlds Team

Posted on 17. Dec, 2009 by in news

USA Cycling has announced the first round of nominations to the United States National Team for the 2010 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships in Tabor, Czech Republic, Jan. 30-31.

Five athletes were named to each of the elite women’s, U23 men’s and junior men’s squads based on competitive performances over the course of the last year.

After capturing her sixth consecutive USA Cycling Cylco-cross National title and winning a pair of World Cups this season, Katie Compton (Colorado Springs, Colo./Planet Bike) received an automatic nomination and will lead the elite women’s squad. Compton is currently the top-ranked female cyclo-crosser in the world rankings ahead of Dutchwomen Daphny van den Brand and reigning world champion Marianne Vos. After her silver-medal-performance at the World Championships in 2006 and earning the bronze at last year’s contest, Compton is not only an automatic qualifier to the squad, but will be the favorite heading into Tabor.

Garnering the most points in five out of the six U.S. qualification races, Amy Dombroski (Boulder, Colo./Schlamm p/b Primus) is another automatic qualifier for the elite women’s squad. After finishing third at the recent USA Cycling Cyclo-cross National Championships, fifth in the USA Cycling Cyclo-cross National Calendar standings and second in the U.S. Gran Prix of Cyclo-cross, the 22-year-old Dombroski looks to be a strong world championship contender for years to come.

Discretionary nominations to the elite women’s team went to national championship silver medalist Meredith Miller (Fort Collins, Colo./California Giant-Specialized), Laura Van Gilder (Cresco, Pa./C3-Sollay) and Maureen Bruno-Roy (Arlington, Mass./MM Racing p/b Seven Cycles).

Elite Women

Katie Compton (Planet Bike)Katie Compton Amy Dombroski (Schlamm-Clement-Primus Mootry)Amy Dombroski
Meredith Miller (CalGiant/Specialized)Meredith Miller Laura Van Gilder (C3 Athletes Serving Athletes)Laura Van Gilder Maureen Bruno-Roy (MM Racing/Seven)Maureen Bruno-Roy

In the U23 men’s division, 2007 junior world championship silver-medalist Danny Summerhill (Englewood, Colo./Garmin-Felt) earned the only automatic nomination to the team with his victory at the USA Cycling Cyclo-cross National Championships.

Discretionary selections to the men’s U23 team went to national championship U23 bronze-medalist Luke Keough (Sandwich, Mass./Champion Systems), last year’s junior national champion and 2009 Collegiate DI national champion Zach McDonald (Bainbridge Island, Wash./Stevens Classic Cycle), Jerome Townsend (Princeton, Mass./Bikereg.com-Joe’s Garage) and Dave Hackworthy (Hudson, Wisc./Plan C).

U23 Men

Danny Summerhill Luke Keough
Zach McDonald Jerome Townsend Dave Hackworthy

Winning the USA Cycling junior cyclo-cross national championship, Cody Kaiser (El Dorado Hills, Calif./Cal Giant) was the only automatic qualifier in the junior division. Jeff Bahnson (Newark, Del./Thule-Vandessel), Skyler Trujillo (Fort Collins, Colo./Black Sheep), Chris Wallace (Shawnee, Kan./KCCX-Verge) and Matt Spinks (Layton, N.J./Young Medalists-Team Dual Temp) all earned discretionary nominations and will make up the remainder of the junior men’s squad.

Junior Men

Cody Kaiser Jeff Bahnson
Skyler Trujillo Chris Wallace Matt Spinks

The elite men’s nominations (5) will be announced on Jan. 13 following the next two rounds of the UCI Cyclo-cross World Cup. To view the complete selection procedures for all categories, read this document from USA Cycling.

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.