Hump Day News

Posted on 16. Dec, 2009 by in news

Quiet on the news front as the year comes to a close. After a major hickup caused by my hosting provider, we’re back in business.

Great racing and even better crowds - now thats cross

Great racing and even better crowds - now that's cross

It’s a wrap. The USA Cyclocross National Championships are done, and so is my season of covering cross races in person – bummer that, I would love to go to Europe to follow some North American riders and share their experiences, ups and downs as they get ready for Worlds…

Bend, Oregon was fantastic, fabulous crowds and great racing. And before that, arguably the best racing this year at USGP Portland!  So many memories from Bend, the young junior girls 10-12, 13-14 all bundled up for the early morning race at 8am, and let me tell you race they did!  The domination of Katie Compton. The battle between Meredith Miller & Amy Dombrosky for second. The heavy favorites Cody Kaiser & Danny Summerhill coming through. The heartbreak of Jeremy Powers crashing out and the triumph of this teammate Tim Johnson.   But over all it’s the people that I will always remember…

You can relive it all  – with links to 15 photos galleries and all posts here

Some rider news. Moises Aldape is moving from Team Type 1 to Rock Racing for the 2010 season. Canadian Charles Dionne has re-signed with the Fly V Australia team. Dionne be joining the team for a training camp in Australia on January 9, and his first race will be the Trust House Cycle Tour in New Zealand on January 27.

The Jelly Belly team is always meeting fans before a race

The Jelly Belly team is always meeting fans before a race

Some team news. The longest running team in the US pro peloton, Jelly Belly Cycling Team, announced a two-year contract extension with title sponsor Jelly Belly and a new presenting sponsor Kenda Tires.

In 2010, the team will be officially called the Jelly Belly Cycling Team presented by Kenda, and  will race NRC in the US and several UCI races overseas. More new sponsors signed for the season and providing equipment are Focus for bicycle frames, Pactimo apparel and DeFeet socks.

New riders to the team include Mike Friedman, Anthony Colby, Jonathan Chodroff. Friedman, formerly of Garmin Slipstream, was on the ’08 US Olympic team for track cycling and is expected to bring a depth of experience to Jelly Belly. Colby is a veteran climber and Chodroff is a time trial specialist. Moving up from the Jelly Belly’s feeder team, Waste Management squad are Sean Mazich and Kevin Stolier. Two additional riders Jacob Rathe and Carter Jones will ride for the U23 National Team and will join Jelly Belly at key races.

Five returning riders have been the heart of the team for several years now: Brad HuffBernard van Ulden, Keil Reijnen, Will Routley and Jeremy Powers. Team camp begins February 9 in San Marcos, California led by Team Director Danny Van Haute.

The Jelly Belly team partners are: Jelly Belly Candy Company, ARAMARK, Kenda Tires, Focus, Lexus, 3T, Pactimo, Rudy Project, fi’zi:k, DeFeet, Gatorade, Cat Eye, Park Tool, Rv Inno and Arundel.

Jeremy Vennell returns to the BISSELL team in 2010

Jeremy Vennell returns to the BISSELL team in 2010

The BISSELL team have added three new riders to the 2010 roster: Rob Britton, Ian Boswell, and Shane Kline, making 13 riders in total. Canadian Britton finished 5th at the Mt Hood Classic GC this year while riding with Trek Red Truck Racing Team p/b Mosaic Homes. Boswell comes from the Hot Tubes Development Team and raced with the USA Junior World Championship Team. Adding support to the crit team, Kline comes from the track where he finished 3rd in the Madison at this year’s USA Cycling Elite Track Nationals.

The BISSELL Pro Cycling team for 2010 is: Ben Jacques-Maynes, Frank Pipp, Andy Jacques-Maynes, Cody O’Reilly, Daniel Holloway, David Williams, Ian Boswell, Jeremy Vennell, Kyle Wamsley, Paul Mach, Peter Latham, Rob Britton, and Shane Kline.

Onto some cross news.  The Canadian Cycling Association (CCA) has released the team that will represent Canada at the 2010 UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships held in Tabor, Czech Republic.

  • Elite Women: Vicki Thomas - Vicki is currently racing in Europe, follow her on her blog
  • U23 Men: Jared Stafford
  • Junior Men: Kris Dahl, Conor O’Brien, Kiernan Orange, Mackenzie Carson
Laura Van Gilder (C3 Athletes) at USGP Mercer Cup

Laura Van Gilder (C3 Athletes) at USGP Mercer Cup

The MAC Cyclocross Series has published the final 2009 point standings for its team classification and 15 individual classes for the 2009 season. Winning the MAC Team Classification for the second straight year was the C3-Athletes Serving Athletes squad, led by Laura Van Gilder who also repeats as the Elite Women’s Champion. On the men’s side, Swiss rider Valentin Scherz made the trip from Europe profitable as he not only became the first racer in MAC history to claim both the U23 and Elite Men titles, but also the first to win both titles in the same year.

In the other Elite age groups, Zach Bender used consistent results and savvy scheduling to take the inaugural Elite Junior title, while Jennifer Maxwell added the MAC Masters 35+ to her palmares. Mike Yozell and Blair Saunders took Elite 35+ and 45+ Masters respectively. (Full results at

The Series now moves to Philadelphia for its annual awards “MACquet” on January 9 at the Manayunk Brew Pub, details to be posted soon on .

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Hump Day News”

  1. Rumor

    18. Dec, 2009

    Luca Damiani to Kenda Pro Cycling. Just heard it.


  1. Twitted by podiuminsight - January 10, 2010

    [...] This post was Twitted by podiuminsight [...]