News update: radio ban, Team Kenda women, eurocrosscamp

Posted on 29. Nov, 2009 by in news

Time for a quick Sunday news update.

dsc_5745Earpiece Radios Banned for Elite UCI Class 2 events. After a meeting in Switzerland on September 23, the UCI Management Committee decided to ban gradually the use of earpiece radios for all categories of rider. The ban was already in place for the Junior and U23 categories.

The radio ban is now expanded to cover UCI *.2 events for Elite Women and Men  in 2010. Events impacted are in the UCI international calendar, the national calendar as well as the UCI World Championships. For North America, that means 8 events from the UCI Calendar: Tour of Battenkill, Air Force Cycling Classic, Tour de PEI, La visite chrono de Gatineau, Tour de Beauce, U.S. Open of Cycling, Tour de New York and Univest Grand Prix.  The Amgen Tour of California, Philadelphia International Championships and Tour of Missouri are all .HC races and are not covered by this change.

Will the radio ban mean more breakaways making it to the finish? Time will tell.

Team RadioShack as announced its final roster of 25 riders coming from 15 different countries. Fumiyuki Beppu of Japan was originally announced to be part of the 2010 team but it seems that he is still under contract with the Skil-Shimano team. Transfer-o-rama has been updated.  Joining manager Johan Bruyneel, the four Sports Directors are Dirk Demol (BEL), Alain Gallopin (FRA), Viatcheslav Ekimov (RUS) and José Azevedo (POR). The team will gather for the first time in Tucson, Arizona during the second week of December 2009.

Team Kenda

Team Kenda's Jackie Kurth

Team Kenda women is returning for an eleventh season with enhanced support from its banner sponsor Kenda USA. Riders returning to the team include Ashley James, Catherine Walberg, Denise Ramsden, Jackie Kurth, Kat Clark, Silke Wunderwald, and Team Captain Kristin Wentworth. New additions include Amity Elliot, Anna McLoon, Jen Rasmusson, Jennifer Greenberg, Kendi Thomas and Melissa Ross.

Lots of young talent here as Kurth is the current 18 year old Junior National Criterium Champion, James, and Greenberg are attending college on cycling scholarships, Thomas is the Collegiate Division II National Champion in both the Criterium and the TT, Ramsden is a past Canadian Junior National RR Champion.

Returning Team Kenda sponsors include Blue Competition Bicycles, Verge Sport, LH Thomson, SRAM, Rudy Project, CycleOps, Zipp Speed Weaponry, Headsweats, Terry Precision Cycling, Skins, Thule, The Pear Tree Pen Company, Sportcrafters, Deen-Gross Eye Centers, Ferguson & Associates, and LifesportDR. New sponsors include Outlaw Earth (messenger bags), Govert Auto Body, and Hoo Ha Ride Glide, a Reflect Sports product for the 2010 season.

Speaking of sponsors, Team Garmin-Slipstream is officially renamed to Team Garmin-Transitions with the addition of Transitions Optical as a new sponsor of the team.

The Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board will return as the presenting sponsor of the Tour of America’s Dairyland in 2010. Tentative dates of June 17-27, 2010, for the sophomore year of the Tour of America’s Dairyland. In its inaugural year, the 2009 Tour of America’s Dairyland paid out over $85,000 in cash and primes to racers of multiple categories across nine Wisconsin cities in 10 days.

Men’s and Women’s transfer-o-rama has been updated with this info and more.

Chris Wallace (KCCX/Verge), Yannick Eckmann (Clif Bar Development) and Jeffrey Bahnson (Thule Van Dessel)

Chris Wallace (KCCX/Verge), Yannick Eckmann (Clif Bar Development) and Jeffrey Bahnson (Thule Van Dessel)

Geoff Proctor announced the selection for the 7th edition of Euro Cross Camp. Based at the Team USA House,  in Flanders, the camp provides the opportunity to combine preparation, performance and experience through total cyclocross immersion. The race schedule comprises of events between December 20 until January 2.

The seven juniors selected are Chris Wallace (KCCX/Navigators Ins./Verge), Skyler Trujillo (Black Sheep Jr. Cycling), Jeff Bahnson (Thule/Van Dessel), Matt Spinks (Team Plan C CX/Stevens), Yannick Eckmann (Clif Bar Development Team), David Kessler (Clif Bar Development Team) and Josh Lehmann (Sunapee/S&W/Continental Paving).

The eight U23 riders are Danny Summerhill (Felt-Holowesko Partners-Garmin), Zach McDonald (Stevens/Classic Cycle), Jerome Townsend (’s Garage/IF), Steve Fisher (Rad Racing NW/Hagens Berman), Travis Livermon (Champion System/Cannondale), Josh Berry (Unattached), Joe Dombrowski (Haymarket Bicycles/HomeVisit) and Joseph Schmalz (KCCX/Verge).

The three Elite Men riders are Troy Wells (Team Clif Bar), Brian Matter (Team Gear Grinder) and Justin Lindine (’s Garage/IF).

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “News update: radio ban, Team Kenda women, eurocrosscamp”

  1. Mike

    03. Dec, 2009

    Just a heads up. The US Airforce UCI Race has been upgraded to a 1.1 as part of the date change requested by ATOC.