Zirbel and Phillips win Cascade TT

Posted on 24. Jul, 2009 by in race

58 dog (photo courtesy of Jono Coulter)

58 dog (photo courtesy of Jono Coulter)

Zirbelicious did it again at the Bend Memorial Cascade Cycling Classic. BISSELL’s Tom Zirbel smoked another one, clocking 32:50.30 with an average speed of 29.24 mph (47.05 kmph) over the 16-mile (25 km) out-and-back Skyliner’s Time Trial.  Making it two stage wins for BISSELL after Ben Jacques-Maynes solo victory in stage 1.

Just like the time trial at the Tour of the Gila, Zirbel was rocking  a 58 tooth front chain ring to tackle the course which after a hard right turn went uphill all the way to the turn around point and downhill back.

According to his blog, Zirbel “really felt crummy during and after yesterday’s hard road race. At 7p last night (6 hours after the end of the race), my legs were still throbbing and extremely sore.”

BMC’s Ian McKissick was second at 11 seconds back, moving him to fourth spot in GC and yellow jersey Oscar Sevilla (Rock Racing) was third at 44 seconds from the winner.

With 3 stages in the bag, and 3 more to go, Sevilla leads the general classification 40 seconds of BMC’s Jeff Louder who moved up to second spot. Rock Racing’s  Francisco Mancebo dropped down to third at 1:04 back.

What’s next? The 83-mile (133 km) Cascade Lakes Road Race starts off with a 10-mile climb and finishes with a 15-mile climb, with a false flat in the middle and final steep kicker up to  Mt Bachelor topping off at nearly 6,400 feet (1950 m). Rock Racing will have its hands full defending the jersey. There are 8 riders that are less than 2 minutes of Sevilla including the OUCH-Maxxis duo of Rory Sutherland and KOM leader Chris Baldwin and Jacques-Maynes. Lastly, as per the last communique “The Rock Racing team vehicle was reinstated in the caravan but relegated to last position”.

TT podium: Lip Smacker teammate standing in for winner Jessica Phillips, TIBCO's Alison Starnes in second and Team Type 1's Alison Powers in third - Photo (c) Jonathan Devich/Epic Images

TT podium: Lip Smacker teammate standing in for winner Jessica Phillips, TIBCO's Alison Starnes in second and Team Type 1's Alison Powers in third - Photo (c) Jonathan Devich/Epic Images

Confusion in the women’s race results.

Jessica Phillips of Lip Smacker clocked the fastest time of 38:45.47 over the same 16-mile course as the men with an average speed of 24.77 mph (39.85 kmph). TIBCO’s Alison Starnes was second at 10 seconds back which moved her up to 6th overall on GC. Reigning US Time Trial Champion Alison Powers of Team Type 1 was third at 12 seconds.

Powers was originally announced as the winner by the media present at the race who had to either look over officials’ shoulders or use their own stopwatches as there were no timing clock was visible at the finish line. Confusion was such that Phillips did not show up at the podium ceremony which resulted in a $70 fine from the officials and forfeiture of the $150 she would have received for winning the race.

Leader Evelyn Stevens of the Webcor Builders team, finished fourth and keeps the yellow jersey which she’s worn since the first stage. TIBCO owns the next 3 spots on GC with Amber Rais at 1:02, Kat Carroll at 1:06 and Julie Beveridge at 1:10. Powers is in fifth at 1:21.

Webcor will be under attack from the get-go by the TIBCO team in Friday’s queen stage, a 71-mile beast topping out at Mt Bachelor. It’s likely that the riders occupying the final podium on Sunday will be determined on the steep pitches of the final 5km of Friday’s stage. Team Type 1, ValueAct and Colavita/Sutter Home will play off the rivalry between Webcor and TIBCO to try and sneak away.

“It’s gonna hurt tomorrow,” Starnes said. “Webcor will have their work cut out for them tomorrow. We have a lot of cards to play, and I expect we’ll play all of them.”

More readings/viewings

Photos: Veronika Lenzi, veloimages, Jonathan Devich/cyclingnews, Pat Malach/velonews
Results: 2009 PRO Results

Bike route 248500 – powered by Bikemap 


Comments are closed.