Team Type 1 goes 1-2 and Kristin Armstrong wins her final US race at Boise Twilight Crit

Posted on 20. Jul, 2009 by in race

Last week, Hanson raced without any teammates and won the San Rafael (Calif.) Twilight Criterium

Ken Hanson won for the second straight week and Aldo Ino Ilesic finished second as Team Type 1 went 1-2 Saturday night at the 23rd annual Wells Fargo Twilight Criterium in Boise, Idaho. Lucas Sebastian Haedo (Colavita-Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light) finished third.

The hot weather – with the thermometer lowered to 95 degrees after hitting a record 106 earlier in the day – didn’t dampen the energy of the 86 racers that lined up for the 15th event on the USA Cycling National Racing Calendar.

“The team was great,” Hanson said. “It was awesome. It couldn’t have been more perfect from a team standpoint.”

A feverish chase by all five of Team Type 1’s riders closed what looked to be an insurmountable gap to a pair of breakaway riders, BISSELL’s Peter Latham and Colavita/Sutter Home’s Tyler Wren, with one lap remaining in the one hour-plus-five-laps race on the 0.6-mile (1 km), four-corner course through Downtown Boise. Latham showed tremendous power as he was the only one working in the break and managed to keep the field at bay until the last lap.

“With five laps to go, the gap was 15 seconds and with one lap to go, it was five seconds,” Team Type 1 Director Sportif Vassili Davidenko said. “On the backstretch with half a lap to go, it was still four seconds. But our guys were going full gas and Aldo and Ken came out of the last corner with a 20-meter gap.”

Prior to the men’s race, the crowd was in for a treat. Olympic gold medalist Kristin Armstrong (Cervelo TestTeam) took the win in the women’s pro race, which is not on the NRC calendar, in her final race on US soil, as the 35-year-old plans to retire at the end of the year. Liza Rachetto (SugarCRM) and Tiffany Pezzulo, (DFT p/b Treads) finished second and third.

Complete results here.

No changes to the top of the leaderboard for the NRC Standings.

After 15 events in the men’s calendar completed, the top 5 are:
Men’s Individual Standings

  1. Tom Zirbel (BISSELL) 908
  2. Sebastian Haedo (Colavita-Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light) 890
  3. Rory Sutherland (OUCH-Maxxis) 864
  4. Alejandro Borrajo (Colavita-Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light) 436
  5. Ben Jacques-Maynes (BISSELL) 421
Men’s Team Standings

  1. Colavita-Sutter Home Pro Cycling Team 2282
  2. BISSELL Pro Cycling 1936
  3. OUCH presented by Maxxis 1443
  4. Team Type 1 1074
  5. Kelly Benefit Strategies 871
After 13 events in the women’s NRC, the top 5 are:
Women’s Individual Standings

  1. Alison Powers (Team Type 1) 1145
  2. Kristin Armstrong (Cervelo TestTeam) 905
  3. Shelley Olds (Proman) 532
  4. Catherine Cheatley (Colavita-Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light) 487
  5. Katherine Carroll (TIBCO) 459
Women’s Team Standings

  1. Team Type 1 1730
  2. Team TIBCO 1477
  3. Colavita-Sutter Home Pro Cycling Team 1445
  4. Webcor Builders Women’s Professional Cycling Team 1202
  5. ValueAct Capital Cycling Team 966

Complete results available at The next event on the 2009 NRC is the Cascade Cycling Classic on July 22-26 for both the men and women.

Tags: , , ,

Comments are closed.