the week that was

Posted on 26. Jun, 2009 by in news

Fairly quiet on the news front this past week.

Tour of Missouri

Tour of Missouri

Let’s start off with some race news. More teams were announced for the 2009 Tour of Missouri:  BISSELL Pro Cycling Team, Colavita/Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light, Kelly Benefit Strategies and Team Type 1 are now confirmed to compete in the invite-only, UCI professional cycling race, scheduled for September 7-13, 2009. Currently 14 of the total of 15 teams are known and only one team remains to be named. Teams already announced are Astana, BMC Racing, Cervelo Test Team, Garmin-Slipstream, Jelly Belly, Liquigas, OUCH p/b Maxxis, Quick Step, Team Saxo Bank and Team Columbia-Highroad.

Following the the news of the event-specific derogation awarded by the UCI, it is now official that the BMC Racing Team led by defending champ Jeff Louder will be part of the 16 teams at the 2009 Larry H. Miller Tour of Utah. Rosters are slowly being filled out on the race website, and also the Tour is also seeking volunteers in the following areas: course marshal, hospitality, medical control, security and volunteer assistance.

A recap of the Nature Valley Grand Prix will air on Universal Sports, the event’s worldwide broadcast partner this weekend. Originally slotted for a half hour, the program has been expanded to a full hour “because there were far too many compelling story lines to cover in the shorter program”. TV airings are (check which channel carries Universal Sports in your area)

  • Saturday, June 27, 11:00 am PST/2:00 pm EST
  • Sunday, June 28, 3:00 pm PST/ 6:00 pm EST
  • Tuesday, June 30, 8:00 am PST/11:00 am EST
  • Sunday, July 5, 1:00 pm PST/4:00 pm EST
  • Monday, July 6, 3:00 pm PST/6:00 pm EST

Also, the  program should  also stream from www.UniversalSports.com (schedule is not updated with this information)

Fabio Calabria at the 2009 Redlands Bicycle Classic

Fabio Calabria at the 2009 Redlands Bicycle Classic

Onto rider news. Australian Fabio Calabria (Team Type 1)  had to be admitted to a Colorado hospital last week with a severe infection from a saddle sore. He had already been sidelined by a broken bone in his hand sustained June 6 during a training ride crash the day before the TD Bank Philadelphia International Classic.

Also on Team Type 1, on the women’s team, Monique Hanley was seriously injured in a massive pile-up during the Tulsa Tough criterium series May 30 in Tulsa, Okla. She suffered spinous process fractures of the thoracic 3, 4 and 5 vertebrae (i.e, a broken back) as well as a separation of the Acromioclavicular joint in her right shoulder. She underwent shoulder surgery in Australia and was released from the hospital last Saturday.  Hanley has been blogging about her injury and recovery.   Calabria – who, like Hanley has Type 1 diabetes – said it is too early to tell how long he may be off the bike due to the infection.

Canadian Dominique Rollin is still recovering from mononucleosis and had to skip the Canadian Road Nationals which are taking place this weekend.

ValueAct’s Leah Goldstein will continue as the Israeli National Time Trial Champion, winning by a wide margin, despite 110 degree heat, Goldstein was cool as a cucumber, blazing by on her Specialized Transition. Goldstein will contest the road race this weekend.

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.