Bajadali wins Tour of Winghaven; NRC standings

Posted on 23. Jun, 2009 by in news, race

Andy Bajadali (KBS) wins Tour of Winghaven

Andy Bajadali (KBS) wins Tour of Winghaven

On a day when the heat and humidity tried to dominate the field of 78 racers in the NRC Tour de WingHaven in O’Fallon, Missouri, the race instead was dominated by a long 60 mile plus breakaway followed by a smart tactical move with about 10 miles to go.

With three 3-mile laps remaining in the 27-lap 84 mile circuit race and as temperatures hovered in the mid-90’s and high humidity made it feel over 100 degrees,  Andy Bajadali of Kelly Benefit Strategies bridged up to a breakaway group that included Brian Jensen of TradeWind Energy / Trek Stores. Jensen and his breakaway partners, Jeff Schroetlin (ABD Cycling) and David Henderson (Columbia Bicycling Club) had been the lead since lap 5. But Schroetlin and Henderson could not stay with Jensen and Bajadali as the two pulled away and rode the last three laps together.

At the end, the fresher legs of Bajadali had enough left to outsprint Jensen in the uphill finishing straight and take the victory in the inaugural NRC edition of the Tour de WingHaven.

The open women’s race which was not part of the NRC series was won by Christine Roettger (Team Revolution) ahead of Mercy Cycling Team duo of Jennifer Herrell-Rhoades and Michelle Jensen.

Photos: Slideshow from STL Today, stlbiking,

Complete results here

uscycling_nrcWith only one men’s NRC race this past weekend, there are no changes on the National Racing Calendar (NRC) Standings.

After 14 total events, Rory Sutherland (OUCH-Maxxis) and Alison Powers (Team Type 1) continue to lead the individual standings. Colavita-Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light leads the men’s team standings while Team Type 1 remained in the top spot on the women’s side.

After 12 races in the men’s calendar completed, the top 5 are:
Men’s Individual Standings

  1. Rory Sutherland (OUCH-Maxxis) 785
  2. Tom Zirbel (BISSELL) 757
  3. Sebastian Haedo (Colavita-Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light) 755
  4. Ben Jacques-Maynes (BISSELL) 421
  5. Alejandro Borrajo (Colavita-Sutter Home p/b Cooking Light) 351
Men’s Team Standings

  1. Colavita-Sutter Home Pro Cycling Team 1966
  2. BISSELL Pro Cycling 1715
  3. OUCH presented by Maxxis 1301
  4. Jelly Belly Cycling Team 756
  5. Team Type 1 756
After 12 events in the women’s NRC, the top 5 are:
Women’s Individual Standings

  1. Alison Powers (Team Type 1) 1030
  2. Kristin Armstrong (Cervelo TestTeam) 905
  3. Shelley Olds (Proman) 532
  4. Katherine Carroll (TIBCO) 459
  5. Joanne Kiesanowski (TIBCO) 450
Women’s Team Standings

  1. Team Type 1 1495
  2. Team TIBCO 1477
  3. Webcor Builders Women’s Professional Cycling Team 1202
  4. Colavita-Sutter Home Pro Cycling Team 1191
  5. ValuAct Capital Cycling Team 941

Complete results available at The next event on the 2009 NRC for both the men and women will be the Manhattan Beach Grand Prix on June 28 in Manhattan Beach, California.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.