Columbia’s Teutenberg wins final stage and overall; Fly V/Australias’s Cantwell wins crit and Day wins overall at San Dimas Stage Race

Posted on 23. Mar, 2009 by in race

The Columbia-High Road juggernaut continued in the final stage of the San Dimas Stage Race, the 50-minute Incycle/Cannondale Old Town San Dimas Classic as German sprinter Ina-Yoko Teutenberg won her second consecutive stage and claimed the overall classification of the 3-day stage race.

Going into the final criterium, Teutenberg was in second spot, 17 seconds behind her teammate Mara Abbott. Cath Cheatly (Colavita/Sutter Home) was in third position at 32 seconds back. As expected, the early racing was aggressive as team after team, Colavita/Sutter Home, SugarCRM, ValueAct amongst others launched attacks to try and get away but the Columbia-High Road women led by ‘killer” (my new nickname) Kim Anderson closed everything down.

Teutenberg grabbed the two time bonus HotSpot Sprint points and then went on the attack. She opened the gap quickly and was able to hold off the chasing bunch led by the Colavita/Sutter Home team to win solo. Crossing the line ten seconds later, Tina Pic (Colavita/Sutter Home) won the bunch sprint for second place ahead of Kendall Ryan (NOW-MS Society).

“That final effort really hurt,” said Teutenberg, “but it was fun. I felt really good today and I didn’t want to wait for a sprint, so I went for it.”

Abbott finished second in the overall classification at 33 seconds behind her teammate and Cheatley held on to the third spot.

In the final tally, the Columbia-High Road won all stages, all jerseys and the overall tour win. Alex Wrubleski won the Queen of the Mountain, Abbot won the Best Young Rider and Teutenberg also won the Sprints competition.

“My teammates did a good job of controlling things back in the bunch so it all worked out. It’s been a great three days of racing for us.” added Teutenberg.

Will Columbia-High Road continue their domination at next week’s Redlands Bicycling Classic?

With only 8 seconds separating the leader Ben Day (Fly V Australia), Phil Gaimon (Jelly Belly) and Chris Baldwin (Rock Racing), the racing was fast and furious around the 6-corner course at the mens’s Incycle/Cannondale Old Town San Dimas Classic.

Moves and counter-moves with the Fly V Australia team chasing everything down. After missing all the first time  HotSpot time bonuses won by BMC’S Jeff Louder, the Fly V Australia didn’t want a repeat of last year and made sure to take the second and final HotSpot wih Alessandro Bazzana follwed by his teammate Day  crossing the line first.

With five laps to go and the field all together, the OUCH team came to the front and stepped on the gas to set up their sprinter. The  argy-bargy sprint to the finish was on with BMC and Bissell trying to move into the leadout train. In the end, Jonathan Cantwell (Fly V Australia) won the bunch sprint ahead of Seba Haedo (Colavita/Sutter Home) and John Murphy (OUCH).

Day successfully defended his yellow jersey acquired by setting the fastest time in the opening time trial to claim the overall win. Gaimon finished second and Baldwin was third.   Bazzana won the sprints competition, Shawn Milne (Team Type 1) won the KOM and Gaimon claimed the Best Young rider jersey.

The men now prepare for the NRC opener, the Redlands Bicycle Classic which starts on Thursday March 26.

Women’s Stage 3 Top 5 Results

  1. Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (Columbia-High Road) 53:01
  2. Tina Pic (Colavita/Sutter Home) +00:10
  3. Kendall Ryan (NOW-MS Society) st
  4. Cath Cheatley (Colavita/Sutter Home) st
  5. Kristen LaSasso (Kahala-LaGrange) st

Women’s Top 5 Final General Classification

  1. Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (Columbia-High Road) 3:39:20
  2. Mara Abbott (Columbia-High Road) +00:33
  3. Cath Cheatly (Colavita/Sutter Home) +00:59
  4. Alex Wrubleski (Columbia-High Road) +01:18
  5. Kristen LaSasso (Kahala-LaGrange) +01:19

Men’s Stage 3 Top 5 Results

  1. Jonathan Cantwell (Fly V/Australia-Successful Living) 1:14:58
  2. Lucas Sebastiuan Haedo (Colavita/Sutter Home) st
  3. John Murphy (OUCH-Maxxis) st
  4. Cody O’Reilly (BIssell) st
  5. Shawn Milne (Team Type 1) st

Men’s Top 5 Final General Classification

  1. Ben Day (Fly V/Australia-Successful Living) 4:41:36
  2. Phil Gaimon (Jelly Belly) +00:07
  3. Chris Baldwin (Rock Racing) +00:15
  4. Peter Stetina (Felt-Holowesko Partners-Garmin) +00:19
  5. Will Routley (Jelly Belly) +00:22

Full results here


Comments are closed.