Team Type 1′s Jesse Anthony wins KOM at Tour de Taiwan

Posted on 16. Mar, 2009 by in race


Jesse Anthony wins the KOM at the Tour de Taiwan

Team Type 1′s Jesse Anthony won the King of the Mountain title at the seven-day, 497-mile (800 km) Tour de Taiwan, which ended Saturday with a criterium in Taipei.

The 23-year old Anthony claimed the King of the Mountains jersey on the sixth stage after being first to crest the opening climb and adding a third place finish on the second mountain of the 88-mile (142 km) stage.

Anthony said on the team blog that his King of the Mountains title doesn’t make up for missing a good chunk of the 2008 racing season with an Achilles heel injury, followed by a broken wrist. But it does set the stage for what could be a more productive year.

“After a short season last year I really feel like I have something to prove,” he said. “I feel like this is a great beginning to the season.”

Following a loss of time on the second stage Anthony set his sights on going after the polka dot KOM jersey.

“I saw my hopes for a high overall placing slip away and became more focused on creating opportunities for myself and my teammates for a stage win,” said Anthony. “The first KOM points were up for grabs on stage four, so we didn’t have to think about it until that day.

Phil Southerland enjoys local cuisine

Phil Southerland enjoys local cuisine

The only American team of the 23 teams to start the 21st Tour de Taiwan, Team Type 1′s 5-man roster also included Phil Southerland, Joe Eldrige, Ken Hanson and Aldo Ino Ilesic.  Hanson was the only other finisher for the squad, as the team were felled by crashes and illnesses.  Southerland crashed twice in the first 3 days of the race and he and Eldrige did not make the time cut on the third stage.  Ilesic did not start the fifth stage after losing his battle with a raging fever.


Overall winner Jeżowski Krzysztof (Merida) of the Tour de Taiwan

Polish rider Jezowski Krzysztof of the Merida Europe Team was the overall winner ahead of current Autralian Champ Peter McDonald (Drapac Porsche) and Roman Zhiyentayev (Kazakhstan National Team). Krzysztof, who also won the Sprint classification overcame a ten second deficit to snatch the lead from McDonald on the last stage.

The Merida Europe Team also won the overall team classification.

Full results here

photos courtesy of Tour de Taiwan

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.