the week that was

Posted on 21. Dec, 2008 by in news

The year is winding down and so is podiuminsight.  Eggs mut be nogged, presents wrapped and parties attended, but still time for a final twtw.

For the fourth time in five years, Velo Girls has been awarded by USA Cycling as the Women’s Club of the Year for 2008. Velo Girls has also received this award in 2006 and 2003, and also bore the title of Division II Club of the Year in 2004. This honor recognizes the club for its contributions to the cycling community as a whole, and especially for its work with women. Congratulations!

USA Cycling‘s “Club of the Year” Awards are designed to recognize USA Cycling clubs that have made exceptional efforts to develop programs and promote all aspects of competitive cycling. Overall Club of the Year awards will be given in three different divisions along with several special awards.  The other winners will be announced shorty.

As expected, Australian sprinter Hilton Clarke is following his  teammate Ivan Dominguez to the Fuji-Servetto team. Clarke was very vocal in his search for a new team after the demise of the Toyota-United team.

He has kept on racing and today he won the Launceston Cycling Classic beating Baden Cooke and Simon Gerrans to claim $5000 first prize.

In other team news, the Webcor/AltoVelo racing team is expanding its Elite Amateur Men’s team for the upcoming 2009 season in order to also focus on the NRC events in addition to local races. The roster for the NRC Squad for 2009 will consist of returning riders James Badia, Fabrice Dubost, Rob MacNeill, Rand Miller and Ryan Prsha. They will be joined by new additions Brian Bucholz (from Kelly Benefit Strategie/Medifast), Justin Fraga (from BPG/Montano Velo) and Ryan Parnes (from Metromint).  The Webcor/AltoVelo Elite Cycling Team will be aboard the 09 Giant TCR as of January, courtesy of The Bike Connection and Giant.

Entering its tenth year in women’s cycling, Team Kenda announced its 2009 roster.  Returning to the team are two-time Junior National Champion Jackie Kurth in her final year of junior eligibility, espoir riders Denise Ramsden, 2007 and 2008 Canadian Junior National Road Race Champion Ashley James currently racing for mountain bike powerhouse Lindsey Wilson College,  and climbing specialist  Ally Stacher, from the Lees-McRae Collegiate program. Team Captain Kristin Wentworth also returns along with Kat Clark, Krystal McNutt, and 9-year team veteran and Masters National CX Champion, Catherine Walberg. Rouding out the team are newcomers  Silke Wunderwald and Christy Keely.

Wanna ride with pros? Ride the scenic Central Coast with members of Team Columbia and other cycling enthusiasts to benefit San Luis Obispo ALPHA, Inc on Saturday, February 07, 2009.  Ride choices are a metric century and half-century starting in Avila Beach, CA. Event registration allows riders to also purchase lunch for family and friends who are welcome to join riders after their ride. Included in registration is a meet and greet coffee with professional cyclists, t-shirt, goodie bag, rest stops, and the rider’s lunch. More information including fees here

Or Ride with “Fast Freddie” Rodriguez in a fundraiser for the Fast Freddie Foundation on Saturday, Jan 10, 2009.  The Foundation supports youth cycling and education. Attendees will be able to interact with Freddie throughout the day. After a great lunch at Aldo’s Ristorante, Freddie will revel with you about stories from multiple races, teams, other great riders, and commentary on the Tour de France, Giro de Italia, and the Tour of California. More information including fees here.

Wishing everyone the Happy Holidays.

Comments are closed.