Day 5 results of 2008 USA Cycling Elite Track National Championships

Posted on 06. Oct, 2008 by in race

USA Cycling awarded the final 5 Stars-and-Stripes jerseys as the 2008 USA Cycling Elite Track National Championships concluded at the ADT Event Center velodrome at the Home Depot Center on Sunday.

In the Madison, the Garmin-Chipotle duo of Colby Pearce and Daniel Holloway scored 38 points to beat Guy East (CRCA) and Austin Carroll (Rock Racing), while the pairing of Ian Moir (Rock Racing) and Daniel Heeley (Southbay Wheelmen) finished a lap down to place third. That makes 3 titles for Pearce and 4 for Holloway.

In the women’s points race, 22-year old Kacey Manderfield (Verducci Breakaway Racing) won the event to claim both the elite and U23 titles. Manderfield was one of six riders to lap the field and won two intermediate sprints to score 34 points. Alison Powers (Colavita-Sutter Home) was second with 29 points, while Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Verducci Breakaway Racing) finished third with 27.

With two titles under his belt, Jimmy Watkins (Momentum) teamed up with Dean Tracy (Land Rover-Orbea) and Kelyn Akuna (Veritas Cycling) to score a team sprint championship. In second place were Lanell Rockmore, David Espinoza, Stephen Hill and Justin Williams and the trio of Ryan Crane, Daniel Walker and Andrew Weathers (Hurricane Ike Survivors) were third.

Women’s sprinters also took center stage over the weekend as Cari Higgins (Proman-Paradigm) completed a sweep of all three events. After her keirin, 500-meter time trial and sprint titles, Higgins teamed up with Liz Reap-Carlson (Verducci Breakaway Racing) to win the team sprint. Becky Lang and Dana Feiss riding for Home Depot Center finished second and the Team U23 pair of Cristin Walker and Andrea Fisk were third.

Mitch Clinton photos
Full results.

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.