Team Pursuit, 500-Meter time trial titles awarded in Day 2 of 2008 USA Cycling Elite Track National Championships

Posted on 03. Oct, 2008 by in race

Four more national champions were determined Thursday as the 2008 USA Cycling Elite Track National Championships continued at the ADT Event Center at the Home Depot Center with team pursuit and women’s 500-meter time trial contests.

In the men’s 4,000-meter team pursuit, Taylor Phinney claimed his second national title of the week when he teamed up with Garmin-Chipotle teammates Daniel Holloway, Colby Pearce  and  David Koesel to clock a winning time of 4:21.047. On Wednesday, Phinney also scored a Stars-and-Stripes jersey in the men’s kilometer time trial. The team of Kenny Williams, Roman Kilun, James Stangeland, Daniel Harm grabbed silver and Team Colorado with Zach Watson, Daniel Lionberg, Ian Burnett and Julian Kyer won the bronze.

In the women’s 3,000-meter individual pursuit, the trio of Kimberly Geist, (Metro VW Cycling Team), Alison Powers (Colavita/Sutter Home) and Shannon Koch (Metro VW Cycling Team) rode a 3:43.959 to earn the national title. The Proman Racing team of Shelley Olds, Christen King and Megan Guarnier finished in second place and the Southbay Wheelmen trio of Kelli Jones, Morgan Kapp and Jennifer Reither was third.

Cari Higgins (Proman-Paradigm) won the elite women’s 500-meter time trial national title with a winning mark of 36.781 seconds, besting runner-up Liz Reap-Carlson (Verducci Breakaway) by a mere .07 of a second and third-place finisher Anna Lang (Aaron’s).

As the highest-placed U23 in the standings in sixth, Cristin Walker was awarded the U23 national title in the 500-meter time trial after posting a time of 37.745.

In other competition on Thursday, Jimmy Watkins (Momentum), Lanell Rockmore (Gotham Cycling), Stephen Hill (East Point Track Club) and Michael Blatchford (Cody Racing) all advanced to the semifinals of the men’s sprint. Watkins and Rockmore will square off on Friday in a best-of-three head-to-head format for a spot in the finals while Hill and Blatchford will do the same.

Qualifying heats for the men’s and women’s scratch races were also held. Those advancing to the finals include Anna Lang (Aaron’s), Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Verducci/Breakaway), Alison Powers (Colavita/Sutter Home), and Proman’s Shelley Olds and Megan Guarnier for the women, and Rahsaan Bahati (Rock Racing), Rob Evans (Montano Velo Track), Cody O’reilly (Successful Living), Austin Carroll (Rock Racing), Daniel Holloway (Garmin/Chipotle) and Kirk O’bee (HealthNet/Maxxis) for the men.

On Friday, national titles will be awarded in the men’s elite and U23 match sprint, the men’s and women’s elite and U23 individual pursuit, the women’s keirin, and the men’s and women’s scratch race.

photo of Cari Higgins courtesy Proman-Paradigm
Day 2 results
Mitch Clinton photos 

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.