Chris Thater Memorial up next in the USA CRITS and NRC

Posted on 22. Aug, 2008 by in race

Both the National Race Calendar (NRC) and the USA Crits series are coming close to its final races for the 2008 season.  Next up on Sunday, August 24 in Binghamton, NY. is the Chris Thater Memorial, which is on both calendars.

This year marks the Silver Anniversary of the Chris Thater Memorial, which  is dedicated in memory of Chris Thater, an avid cyclist, who was killed by a drunk driver. The event is a project of the Broome County STOP-DWI Program to heighten awareness about the drunk-driving problem.

The USA Crits race is still tight with only 37 points separating leader Yosvany Falcon (TOSHIBA-Santo) and second place Adam Myerson (Time Pro Cycling). The race for third is also tight with only 16 points separating third place Frank Travieso (TOSHIBA-Santo) from U25 leader Seth Hansley (Locos Pub & Grill) with fifth-placed Mark Hekman (TOSHIBA-Santo) only a further 2 seconds back.   While not on the list of pre-registered riders, defending champion  Kyle Wamlsey (Colavita/Sutter Home) and 2006 winner Hilton Clarke (Toyota-United) should be present to try and win it again. Other strong riders that bare to watch including Toyota-United’s Dominique Rollin and Ivan Dominguez, Kelly Benefit-Medisfast’s Alex Candelario who finished second at Downers Grove last weekend and David Veilleux.

The women’s race is also quite tight, with only 16 points separating leader Kelly Benjamin (Cheerwine), who took second place in last year’s race and Jennifer Wilson (Vanderkitten). Taitt Sato (ValueAct Capital) is in third place but likely will find it impossible to make up all the ground between herself and the leaders, but will face attacks from  Leigh Valletti (Vanderkitten), in fourth place, followed by Tina Pic (Colavita/Sutter Home) to try and dislodge her.   Other teams and women to watch include Laura Van Gilder (Cheerwine), last year’s winner Theresa Cliff-Ryan (Verducci/Breakaway), Laura McCaughey (Juice Plus) and Erica Allar (Aaron’s) who was third last year. 

The race is a  technical 1.2 mile six-corner counter-clockwise course with a hill, that is held around a scenic city park, with a National Register Historic Carousel.  The men race 40 laps and the women, 30  laps in total.

List of pre-registered riders here

Tags: ,

Comments are closed.