Teddy King and Brooke Miller win the Hanes Park Classic

Posted on 03. Aug, 2008 by in race

Bissell’s Teddy King soloed away from  his breakaway companion Jonathan Cantwell (Jittery Joe’s) to win the 1.4-NRC rated Hanes Park Classic in Winston-Salem, North Carolina.  Ricardo Escuela (Successful Living) won the bunch sprint for third.

Tibco’s Brooke Miller avoided a crash and took the sprint ahead of USA Criterium Champion Tina Pic (Colavita/Sutter Home) for the victory in 50-minute women’s crit. Teresa Cliff-Ryan (Verducci) was third.

The Tibco train was in full swing with one lap to go when a huge crash took down half the field including 3 Tibco riders.  But the remaining Tibco riders stayed in front for the final leadout with Rachel Heal in first position. Once she peeled off, Lauren Franges kept the pace high and took Miller to the line for the win.

The unfortunate Helen Kelly (Tibco) broke her collarbone in the wreck.

Want more?
Photos cyclingnews,  ActionImages on velonews,
Full results here.


Comments are closed.