NRC Standings as of July 14

Posted on 16. Jul, 2008 by in news

Two races marked the USA Cycling National Racing Calendar over the July 12th weekend. Levi Leipheimer (Astana) rode to the overall win at the Cascade Cycling Classic in Oregon as Kristin Armstrong (Cervelo-Lifeforce) earned the women’s title. Hilton Clarke (Toyota-United) rode to a victory in the pro men’s contest at the 1.5-rated Louisville Metro Police Foundation Criterium.

With 20 men’s races and 22 women’s events on the 2008 NRC now complete, there are no changes in the men’s standings. Rory Sutherland  (Health Net-Maxxis) continues to hold a commanding lead in the overall individual standings on the men’s side. The Bissell team moved up to second spot in the team classification still led by Health Net-Maxxis.

Kristin Armstrong takes over as the current women’s leader, and no changes in the team competition still led by the Cheerwine team.

The top 5 are:

Men’s Individual Standings
1. Rory Sutherland (AUS/Health Net-Maxxis) 1396
2. Ted King (Brentwood, N.H./Bissell) 723
3. Ben Jacques-Maynes (Watsonville, Calif./Bissell) 643
4. Anthony Colby (Durango, Colo./Colavita-Sutter Home) 589
5. John Murphy (Athens, Ga./Healthnet-Maxxis) 524

Men’s Team Standings
1. Health Net Pro Cycling Team presented by Maxxis 2682
2. Bissell Pro Cycling Team 2123
2. Colavita/Sutter Home Men’s Cycling Team presented by Cooking Light 2123
4. Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team 1648
5. presented by Parkpre 1320

Women’s Individual Standings
1. Kristin Armstrong (Boise, Idaho) 870
2. Catherine Cheatley (NZL/Cheerwine) 852
3. Tina Pic (Dahlonega, Ga./Colavita-Sutter Home) 849
4. Laura Van Gilder (Cresco, Pa./Cheerwine) 828
5. Felicia Gomez (Fresno, Calif.) 821

Women’s Team Standings
1. Cheerwine Professional Cycling Team 3771
2. Aaron’s Cycling Team 2664
3. Colavita/Sutter Home Women’s Cycling Team presented by Cooking Light 2266
4. Team Tibco 2031
5. Valuact Capitol Cycling Team 1172

For complete 2008 NRC Individual and Team Standings, click here.

The next race on the USA Cycling National Racing Calendar will be the 1.3-rated Wells Fargo Twilight Criterium, July 19 in Boise, Idaho.


Comments are closed.