Murphy and Pic win final stage; Wamsley and Cheatley take overall at Fitchburg Longsjo

Posted on 07. Jul, 2008 by in race

As expected, the final stage of the Fitchburg Longsjo Classic, the  Workers Credit union Downtown Criterium, did not bring any changes to the leaderboard. But, not for lack of trying, Bissell’s Teddy King, only 19 seconds behind the leader, gave it a go in the final lap of the 55 laps in the men’s race but Kyle Wamsley (Colavita/Sutter Home) covered the attacks and kept his yellow leader’s jersey.

The race was aggressive from the start on the flat 3-corner crit with a hairpin turn over 0.9 mile (1.4 km) city streets, a course that had remained unchanged for decades. Shawn Milne (Team Type 1) made sure to get enough points to sew up his green jersey and the Colavita team kept a short leash on the GC threats.  With 5 laps to go, the pace increased with the $1500 prime on the line won by John Murphy (Health Net-Maxxis).

It came down to a photo finish, Murphy outsprinted Emile Abraham (Team Type 1) and Alejandro Borrajo (Colavita/Sutter Home) for the win.  In the final general classification, Wamsley took first place followed by Justin Spinelli (Kelly Benefit/Medifast) and King.

Read Ryan Kelly’s take on the race at and check out his photos on flickr.

The women’s race also came down to a bunch sprint as the Cheerwine and Colavita/Sutter Home teams covered each other moves during the 28-lap race. Flurries of attacks in the final la, and then it came down to the perennial adversaries, Laura Van Gilder (Cheerwine) and Tina Pic (Colavita/Sutter Home). And US Crit Champion Pic took the victory ahead of Van Gilder. Megan Guarnier (Proman) riding solo took third.

In the final general classification, New Zealander Catherine Cheatley (Cheerwine) kept the leader’s jersey followed by Kristin McGrath (Colavita/Sutter Home) and Robin Farina (Cheerwine). Cheerwine’s Kelly Benjamin won the points competition.

Audio slideshow from

View Fitchburg Longsjo articles from

Longsjo veteran Mayolo-Pic adds another stage win to impressive legacy, Murphy takes final stage in photo finish from

Velonews, Cyclingnews

Stage results, Final GC results.


Comments are closed.